Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 05:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
Default sound to tv problem

so this is my problem my sound keeps going to my monitor,when i do have i going to my tv it works great but then when i shut down pc the sound goes back to my monitor
set up is xfx 5770,hdmi to tv,dvi to hdmi to monitor ,cables need to be long as my pc is at the back of my entertainment room tv is at front of room and monitoris in the middle of room in front of coutch
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 08:37 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,366

My System Specs

Default

Not exactly clear of what you are explaining. the sound from what? if you are listening to something from your PC and you turn off your PC then there shouldn't be anything going to your Monitor from your PC.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 09:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
Default

sound out from my video card i need it to go to my tv and not to my monitor
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 10:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

You might have to build a profile on the video card that loads up with windows? I'm a little confused too. Can you not disable the audio on the monitor with the menu options?

Disable the audio passthrough on the dvi port?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 10:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
You might have to build a profile on the video card that loads up with windows? I'm a little confused too. Can you not disable the audio on the monitor with the menu options?

Disable the audio passthrough on the dvi port?
how do u do that
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 11:48 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

my computer isn't even setup right now I couldnt walk you through it if I wanted to.

You'll need to fiddle around in the ati software to configure stuff correctly.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 11:58 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

let me guess.
you currently are running 2 set of wires to your monitor.
-first is the video cable(dvi)
-second is/are the audio cable(s)(rca, earphone type jack)

Is that right?

Then you have a HDMI cable that goes from your video card to your TV?
Is that also right?

You're running Windows 7?
Right too?

***************************

At the bottom right of your screen...
-Right Click the speaker icon
-Select "Playback devices"

The one that is currently set as your "default" is the one that feeds your "Monitor"
You need to find the one that feeds your HDMI connection and make that one the Default.


Your opening post is missing punctuation, and words and it's hard to read and understand.

Last edited by blaze_125; December 5, 2011 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 12:37 PM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze_125 View Post
Your opening post is missing punctuation, and words and it's a b!tch to read and understand.
I like how you edited this out. Real smooth. I left out the insulting part because I figured you wouldn't want that still written.

Also, as he mentions in his very easy to read and comprehend first post, the TV setup is this:

TV > HDMI > HDMI/DVI ADAPTER > PC

so he's pushing HDMI through the DVI adapter, to the TV. Will it still report this as an HDMI connection in the list of Playback Devices? Even though it's going out the DVI port.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 12:45 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

TV > HDMI > HDMI/DVI ADAPTER > PC
Does not make sense. Especially if the starting point is the PC.
The edited portion of my post wasn't insulting. It just wasn't necessary.

According to his op, he turns off the computer and he doesn't understand why the sound doesn't work, or doesn't work anymore... The computer is off...

Another way to read that part, is that when he turns off the computer(or turns it back on), the TV doesn't have sound anymore.

DVI doesn't carry sound, so the DVI link isn't feeding sound to his monitor.
So his wiring setup is likely the one I listed.
I must have read the op 40 times over and every time I understand it differently.

He's basically running a dual monitor setup. 1 monitor is an actual monitor, and the other is a TV. Each monitor has sound capability, but each monitor uses a different source from the computer. The solution in my post is likely to fix his problem.

Last edited by blaze_125; December 5, 2011 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 01:04 PM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze_125 View Post
TV > HDMI > HDMI/DVI ADAPTER > PC
Does not make sense. Especially if the starting point is the PC.

According to his op, he turns off the computer and he doesn't understand why the sound doesn't work, or doesn't work anymore... The computer is off...
DVI doesn't carry sound.
So his wiring setup is likely the one I listed.
I must have read the op 40 times over and every time I understand it differently.

He's basically running a dual monitor setup. 1 monitor is an actual monitor, and the other is a TV. Each monitor has sound capability, but each monitor uses a different source from the computer. The solution in my post is likely to fix his problem.
Congratulations, you dun goofed.

There are ATI/AMD cards out there that can push sound through their DVI port using the included adapter. I know for a fact that the 5770 series supported this. So yes, it does work. Just do a quick google search next time.

The issue is simple. He is using this adapter to push audio to his TV. It's supported, it works. But whenever he turns his computer off, Windows is defaulting the audio settings back to his monitor. So the previous suggestion about setting up a profile to do this on Windows boot is probably what he needs to do.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Speaker/On-Board Sound Problem... mitchelt Troubleshooting 1 August 25, 2009 06:13 PM
Bad sound problem m0pelley99 Audio 9 July 21, 2009 04:46 PM
Choppy sound/freezing mouse problem Maplicito Troubleshooting 25 February 15, 2009 12:47 PM
Aurora 3d case front panel headphone plugin and XonarDx sound card problem Shadowmeph Audio 4 December 1, 2008 06:49 PM
Problem with sound card. Song Audio 4 October 11, 2007 05:27 AM