Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 08:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach
Posts: 37
Default Will This Work?

Hey guys I hope this is the right form it is sort of a problem. I'm building a new PC and was wondering if anyone knows if this is compatible. I'm pretty sure it is but just want to make sure. Also Is the water cooling powerful enough if I OC to say... 3.5ghz

Specs:
CPU: Q6600 quad core
RAM: OCZ Platinum OCZ3P13332GK 2GB DDR3 2X1GB DDR3-1333 CL 7-7-7-20 Dual Channel Memory Kit
GPU:
Visiontek Radeon HD 3870 512MB GDDR4 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDCP HDMI HDTV Out Video Card
CD:Liteon BLU-RAY Reader BD-ROM 6X DVD-ROM 12X CD 32X SATA Black Drive W/ Spare Silver Bezel & Software
Case:NZXT LEXA Blackline ATX Case Black 4X5.25 2X3.5 5X3.5INT No PS Temp Display Window Front USB & Audio
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 750GB SATA2 7200RPM 32MB Cache NCQ 3.5IN Hard Drive
Mobo:
ASUS Maximus Extreme LGA775 X38 ATX DDR3 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI 2GBLAN 1394A SATA RAID Motherboard

liquid cooling:
Swiftech MCR220 Quiet Power Dual 120MM Water Cooling Radiator Black G1/4 Threaded

Swiftech MCRES-MICRO Clear HI-FLOW Water Cooling Reservoir 3/8IN & 1/2IN Barb Fittings

NCIX Water Cooling Essentials 120 CPU Water Cooling Kit


If someone could put my mind at ease and let me know if this will work and or give a suggestion to fix any errors or good upgrades I will be happy.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 09:07 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Good call to include the 240 rad, but you forgot the fans for it (couple of Yate loons would do the trick... :) ).

From a cooling perspective you should be OK with the 240 + the 120, but for ease of install I'd grab a 360 rad (I think they're only $10 more) instead of the 240 and not bother with the 120.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 09:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach
Posts: 37
Default .

yea but the 120 comes with the kit.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 06:17 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

You'll be fine with the Dual, no need to add the single in the loop if you are only cooling the CPU (the Essentials 120 only has a CPU block). Now if you wish to mount that Dual outside your case, you'd better add a Radbox to your order.

Regarding the Dual / Micro-res setup, you could buy the MCR-220-QP-RES, which is a rad/res combo. http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Swiftech

YateLoons are fine, and if you can find some Scythe SFFs on sale, they are even better.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 03:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach
Posts: 37
Default chipset

Oh I didn't mention what I'm cooling I'm also cooling the chip-sets as well it's part of the Mobo. if you look at the picture. should of mentioned that.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 03:30 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

No difference, the chipset does not dump that much heat load in the loop. Adding a GPU would be a different story though.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 03:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Y Now if you wish to mount that Dual outside your case, you'd better add a Radbox to your order.
???
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 03:51 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Looks good to me, why not the HIS 3870?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 03:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Looks good to me, why not the HIS 3870?
switched to it after i posted last night

but I'm still puzzled about the radbox thing ^^^
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 05:02 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stormkiller22 View Post
???
Sorry - radbox: Swiftech. This allows to use the fan to secure the rad to the case. Makes installation a snap.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
omg links no work Digitaldemon Suggestions & Feedback 3 March 13, 2008 09:59 AM
TAT will not work. yycraven Troubleshooting 13 February 14, 2008 07:49 AM
Will this all work? Infiniti Water Cooling 11 January 8, 2008 09:50 PM
Will this card(old) work for my rig? bobaban Video Cards 7 October 25, 2007 04:58 PM
how does RMA work? vblanche CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 24, 2007 10:36 AM