Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 03:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default No Post, No Boot

Hi everyone, so my rig has been giving some issues with crashing and bsoding on me lately, decided to ignore it until I have some money for the big 3 upgrade.

Anyways, so today it decided to crash again and now it won't post, everything powers up but no post .

Rig is in sig.
Notes:
-no post
-no boot windows 7
-no HDD activity light flashing
-I've cleared CMOS, no luck
-tried booting with only 1 RAM unit in, no luck
-have taken apart my rig, cleaned it up and put it back together, tried everything again with no luck
-everything else is getting power: GPU, case lights, CPU HSF, etc.

Any ideas?

Thanks everyone :(
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 06:41 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Disconnect your HDD, burn a Linux .iso and try to load the OS using the Live CD method.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 08:30 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

That will work even with nothing coming up on the screen when I turn on my pc? Sorry, I just can't imagine it working since I don't even get the "Asus Formula" Logo.

Will it? :(
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 11:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 35
Default

Sounds like a CPU issue. Id try a cheap s775 chip and see if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 09:05 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
That will work even with nothing coming up on the screen when I turn on my pc? Sorry, I just can't imagine it working since I don't even get the "Asus Formula" Logo.

Will it? :(
Damn, I missed that part. Have you tried another GPU? Do you have an onboard speaker to hear any beep codes?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 10:00 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

reseat the cpu n chek pins

its either the cpu or the board
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 10:09 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,964
Default

any chance to check PSU 3.3v rail
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 03:39 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

my computer doesn't move lol so I don't see the cpu/pins being an issue? Correct me otherwise! I'm open to ideas lol.
No on-board speaker :( I'll see if I can borrow someone's GPU/CPU.

Or should I just not bother with fixing outdated hardware and dig deep for some LGA2011 =P
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 05:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

did you chek with another psu?
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 08:09 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 375
Default

No lol I don't have spare psu's lying around..
__________________
CPU:E8400 @ 3.8GHZ -->Zalman 9700NT HSF
GPU:XFX 5870 1GB
HDD:150GB Raptor,WD500GB,WD1TB BLACK
MOBO:Asus Striker 2 Formula
RAM:OCZ HPC REAPER 4GB 1066mhz pc2-8500 (5-5-5-15)@2.2v
PSU:CORSAIR 750W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
SOUND:Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
F@H PPD:46957

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device BrianHanna Troubleshooting 44 February 11, 2010 02:13 PM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 08:46 PM
No Boot, No Post, No Lights, No Fans Capt Proton Troubleshooting 8 August 8, 2008 02:35 AM
Post or Boot? Preemptive RAM problem magictorch Troubleshooting 2 November 11, 2007 08:30 PM