Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2011, 11:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Default 2500k @ 4.5ghz - OC not showing up in CPU-Z or in BIOS?

I'm new to OC, hell, I'm new to gaming PC's. But as the title suggests, I'm a bit confused as to why the OC I just did through bios is not showing up in programs like CPU-Z, and when I restart and enter bios, my CPU appears to have defaulted to stock settings at 3.3ghz.

Motherboard is P8P67 pro. To OC, I simply set the CPU multiplier to 45, turb ratio to buy all cores, and set CPU voltage to 1.25 (it was at 1.081 at stock). I saved the settings, restarted the PC and checked with CPU-Z but it the OC does not seem to have taken effect as the core speed it at 1600.2mhz. Shouldn't it read 4500?

What did I do wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2011, 11:55 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Go back into windows and do something cpu intensive.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2011, 11:59 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

Yup, it downclocks by default at idle or very low usage by design, this is a good thing. Run Prime95 and see what CPUZ reads. I'm guessing your computer will crash, 1.25v is not enough *likely*, I told you 1.36v to try. You can try though, it might run.

Also, I only told you to change your turbo multis. The 'regular' cpu multi you leave at stock (I think it's 33).
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2011, 12:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Well, like I mentioned, I'm totally new to this. I don't think I touched anything in the turbo numbers.

I set my OC according to this guy who has the same set up.

Overclocking i5 2500K to 4.5 GHZ with ASUS P8P67 Pro - YouTube

Let me know if I should tweak or undo any of these.

Oh, and I just adjusted the CPU voltage to 1.30, just to be safe. It's currently at 1.312v according to CPU-z.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2011, 12:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

Run prime95, and open cpuz to check the core speeds again, set your voltage to 1.35v
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2011, 07:35 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Post a screenshot of prime 95 64 bit version to BTW after your system has run overnight with those voltage settings
Here is a 24 hour screen of mine

__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; November 22, 2011 at 07:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Intel 2500k SOLD, Sapphire 6950 with BIOS unlock SOLD wedge22 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 12, 2011 10:09 PM
i7 920 can't get past 3.5Ghz fjanicki Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 November 2, 2010 02:46 PM
Corsair X128 SSD not booting or showing up in BIOS Pelt Troubleshooting 3 November 5, 2009 12:25 PM
Arg Can't get to 3.5Ghz !!! Tango3 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 April 17, 2009 06:42 PM
Updating BIOS on GA-EP45-DS3L failed, how to access back up BIOS? Kayen Troubleshooting 5 August 7, 2008 06:31 PM