Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 20, 2011, 04:17 PM
Top Prospect

Default Screwed up bios update :(

Hi, today I decided to update my BIOS to the latest version, F6. I currently own a GA-P67A-UD4-B3, which had installed the previous BIOS version, F5. Following this very simple tutorial(How to update bios on gigabyte mb (flash bios without q-flash) very easy!! - YouTube) I tried to update my BIOS, but I miserably fail so bad that now I can't get into windows nor not even log into safe mode. Windows repair tool thing came up and restored my system to an earlier version, but I am guessing since the problem is at the BIOS that doesn't do anything. I heard that GIGABYTE motherboards have a dual BIOS and if you screw up one a second one will start up as a backup, is that true? I honestly don't know what to do since this is my first time playing around with the BIOS, anyways if someone could help me it wold be greatly appreciated. I will provide more info if needed, so feel free to ask.

PS: I read that restarting the BIOS to the default settings my fix my problem, although idk how to do that in the BIOS. This article seems to tackle my problem, but I don't know how to do what it's explain on the article ( I don't want to screw up again) , so if someone could help me with a small tutorial it would be appreciated. Thanks!
Video Card x2: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 Boost @1100/1350 || AMD Radeon R9 280 Double Dissipation Edition @ 1100/1350
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply: XFX XTR Series 750W PSU
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64Bit
Old November 20, 2011, 04:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Please follow this guide. It is written by a gigabyte support tech.

BIOS Flashing - A "How To ~ Qflash Guide"

I learn how to flash from that same guide.