Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 08:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Hi really need help with this:

All drivers are as up to date as can be. Bios is 706, have tried different bios, PSU, 3 video cards, 1 ram stick at a time, clean OS install.
This problem persists, open windows, everything loads, click anything on desktop and it crashes to what is shown in the next post.


Need to force shut down and try again. Eventually it goes through and its stable for ~a week without shut down.

Custom computer

750w thermaltake : PSU
Asus P8z68-v Pro :MB
Intel I2600k :CPU
Gskill F3-12800CL8-8GBXM : RAM
Evga 280 gtx :Vid Card
150gb raptor-X :HD1
2TB Western Dig. :HD2
windows 7 pro : OS

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:01 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,633

My System Specs

Default

That really looks like a failing vid card to me....

You tried 3 different vid cards.... did you try different PCIe slots?

Did all of the cards you tried require PCIe connection from the PSU? If so, maybe the PSU PCIe power is fubarred.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:04 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

I agree looks like a video card problem.
Also maybe check in the event viewer to see any errors in there.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default

I tried 3 different video cards as in this is my 3rd RMA of the same card, and as I mentionned this is my 2nd PSU. So, not a PSU issue, and most likely not a vid card issue either.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default

What would I look for in the event viewer?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:09 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,633

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gladimus View Post
I tried 3 different video cards as in this is my 3rd RMA of the same card, and as I mentionned this is my 2nd PSU. So, not a PSU issue, and most likely not a vid card issue either.
Did you try a different brand / model? If not, and all you've tried have been the returns I suspect they're just sending you back the same card, or there's an incompatability between the card and something else on your board......

Try a completely different vid card model.

The only other thing I can think of would be poor power getting to the card through the PCIe slot for some reason.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:37 AM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

ASUS Z68 and i7-2600 -- he could try without a video card at all, since the CPU has an integrated GPU, which doesn't run through the PCI-e lanes, and his mobo does have the necessary display outputs.

Though that brings another question to mind: which outputs are you using, the motherboard's or the video cards? And is Virtu enabled?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Using the graphic card outputs, virtu is disabled, and the problem doesn't happen without a video card. I just don't understand how my video card couldn't be compatible with my other hardware, it works fine in other PC's.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 09:56 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,633

My System Specs

Default

When you said you tried a different PSU.... did you try a different model or the same TT one? If the card works fine in other PCs, that's the common element I'd look at next.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2011, 10:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default

One Psu was a corsair 850w the other was the TT 750.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive problem or Windows 7 Problem?! aeminence New Builds 4 October 13, 2011 06:46 AM
could this be a game problem or a video driver problem? Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 December 17, 2010 06:01 AM
Do you see problem here? Dazmode Water Cooling 19 November 20, 2010 04:43 AM
Hardware problem or HAL problem? andynerd Troubleshooting 1 March 7, 2009 08:03 PM
Far Cry 2 PROBLEM! Cadence Gaming 16 December 2, 2008 02:54 PM