Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 17, 2011, 12:26 PM
Rookie

Default New build - no hard disk detected, CPU over temp error?

Hey guys,

Started my build yesterday, finished last night. Been having a few major issues with a few things though. PC boots up fine now, but my HDD is not being detected for whatever reason. Post keeps displaying this message:

"hard disk not detected"

Not detected through bios either.

What can be the problem? I'm totally new to PC building and intially had a difficult time getting the optical/HDD connected so perhaps it is not connected properly? My optical drive is being detected just fine, but as mentioned earlier, my HDD is not. My case has hot swap bays (Obsidian 800d) if that helps some. I really want to finish this build but I can't even install windows without the HDD.

I've tried reconnecting it, changing data cables/ports and it's not detecting the HDD. What could be the problem?

Another issue I'm having during the boot post screen, is it was reporting a "CPU over temperature error".

I am using an I5 2500k coupled with an H60 for cooling. I took the H60 off just to make sure it was making proper contact with CPU. The attachment bolts were a bit loose so I tightened them up and made sure thermal paste was evenly distributed (paste was spread out but coating was thin and had a few spots that didn't get totally covered, is this ok?)