Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 08:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

Damn...thanks for all your help, you dudes. No way am I going to be able to do anything with the router tonight; perhaps later this weekend. Should have mentioned this earlier, but does the fact that that she's using a Mac make any difference (the dude at the previous address was using XP)?

Thanks again!

DS
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 08:27 PM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

Operating System "Shouldn't" make a difference.
Unfortunately I am not an expert on wireless networking, so if the other things I mentioned don't work I am not sure if I can assist more. Hopefully someone can chime in with an easy fix that I missed. Otherwise hopefully you can figure it out (really think it has to do with a router / modem reset)
__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 08:27 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

You could also try disabling your network adapter and then re-enabling it... This sometimes helps clear connection issues to the router.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 08:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks again, Jonesy. You're probably right. Inexplicably, I'm now able to pull up HWC with my PC again. But only this, and the PB.

Enjoy the Kokanee!

DS
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 08:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks, Boggtrotter; I've disconnected and re-connected the f^&#!!ing thing several times now, to no effect.

DS
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2011, 09:40 PM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Simpson View Post
Enjoy the Kokanee!
DS
I always do =) I am the only person that drinks it at my college...They also make sure to keep it stocked for me most certainly an off topic post..
In my CCNA / CCNP classes I learned so little about wireless beyond setting up access points. Kind of silly considering the world is becoming unplugged..if you don't pay for internet there isn't much you can do...if you do, be sure to ask if the landlord/anyone else on the same connection is having issues too
__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Wireless Network Setup Supergrover Guides & How-to's 13 December 24, 2013 01:00 AM
wireless network and gaming botat29 Gaming 4 April 1, 2011 10:21 AM
see wireless network but not connect CTA Troubleshooting 7 September 8, 2009 11:26 AM
Help setting up wireless network CasheKicker Networking 7 March 1, 2009 04:16 PM
Setting a wireless network matsta31 Networking 13 November 2, 2008 01:58 PM