Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 10:29 PM
BobLoblaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Campbell River, Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default Where does this temperature come from?

I'm totally baffled by this. My system is running fairly cool with my gpu being the hot spot but I have a random temp meter reading almost double the average heat of the rest of my sensors. Does anyone have any idea what it could be?

Here's a screeny!
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 04:14 AM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

I find that there will be nearly always a glitched reading in HWMonitor. Happens to me all the time, I've checked with an IR, nothing wrong. Just a funny reading.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 04:16 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

I would guess this sensor is your northbridge, Try running a little fan in front of it and see if it lower the temp.

Did you tried aida64? it says more about sensors than hwmonitor.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 08:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default

That might also be the temperature readings of the VRM's on your motherboard. I believe they can generally go as high as 100c, but is not recommended.

Out of curiosity, how many power phases does your motherboard have?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 09:44 AM
BobLoblaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Campbell River, Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

It has all the power phases ever!

I'm not sure? How would I go about discovering such a thing?

Quick google search sez "The especially small MSI X58M equips 6 phase power design for its PWM which fully supports the Intel Core i7 line of CPUs." so.... 6?

So after PockeyMaster mentioned NB and VRM I proceeded to use the googles a bit more and yes it seems it would be the NB or VRM! There is no heatsink on the VRM's and the NB is passively cooled and poorly at that. Time to point a fan at the board and see what happens!

I have found and attached a image of my MB. Circled Red would be the VRMs?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by BobLoblaw; November 8, 2011 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 10:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default

I think if you shift the red loop a bit to the left, that would be the VRM's. Correct me if I'm wrong, but those 'R50' cubes are ferrite chokes. If you're using an aftermarket heatsink that's not blowing down on it, it might explain why the temperatures are high. I had them hit 130c in my really old emachines case, but it was only a 3+1 power phase board and it had no airflow whatsoever. Nowadays, it's around 70c on load with my undervolted x4 640. Sadly, this is the extent of my knowledge on them.

Gigabyte said my board would support up to x6 phenom II's, but I would never take that gamble with a 3+1 power phase board. (don't let this scare you off, it's just a few AMD board models that seem to be plagued by this)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 11:25 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PockyMaster View Post
that would be the VRM's
Agreed. Didn't tough vrm could be detected as well.

Place your finger on the little chips between the square with "R50" in them and the 8-pin connector. If you cannot withstand the heat more than few second, then it is what i consider too hot (70+). These things are designed to work at much higher temps (90+), but i don't believe that kind of temps are good in the long term. Rethink your airflow or add a fan over them to cool a little more.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 01:27 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,065

My System Specs

Default

Wow...thats sparsely cooled.

Yeah get an Antec Spot cool and see if that helps, I know VRM's are monitored (the are you have circled) because my EVGA board X58 polls the temp and reports it to Everest (though that is now AIDA).

I don't think it is NB temperature, last time I saw a NB get that hot was the Nforce Chips 680 and such.

You can also spend a little $$$ and get some Enzotech heatsinks to paste on there (that is what I do on budget boards that don't have VRM cooling. Gives me peace of mind.

EnzoTech

Though finding them is getting harder.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 09:27 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

yes missing HS (3) and gray silicon t.i.m (2)

most times is the screws are loose or chips uneven

place a fan in area
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2011, 02:41 PM
BobLoblaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Campbell River, Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

Thanks everyone for all the help. I haven't had a chance to crack my case open and aim a fan at the offending spot but it's gonna happen this weekend for sure!

I tried finding the EnzoTech heat sinks. Only NewEgg stocks em and they're on back order. Anywhere else I might be able to find em?

What about a bar heatsink? Would I be able to use some thermal tape and just stick one on there that might match the dimensions?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temperature question ( which temperature do I go by? Shadowmeph Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 August 19, 2011 01:00 PM
Which temperature to look at? Hacksaw907 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 July 22, 2011 08:40 PM
temperature bug phantom_jo Troubleshooting 3 August 3, 2009 03:31 PM
Temperature Too Low? curtispan CPU's and Motherboards 4 January 12, 2009 09:58 PM
Max temperature Vinnie Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 November 28, 2007 08:08 PM