Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 04:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default Unstable Internet Connection

Hello guys, im not sure if this is the right forum to post on, but i'll try.

Im having a problem with my internet connection. I have a TP-Link Wireless Modem/Router. On my computer i have a "Basic Belkin USB Adapter", it basicly picks up the Wifi so i can use it.

My problem is that the Internet connection is very Unstable, it isnt 6-8 mbit/s like it should be, its 0-5 mbit, mostly 0-2. And it used be perfectly fine, other computers on the network are more stable, they dont drop to 0, they stay at 3-7 mbit.

But! If i use chorded internet, it stays at 7-8/s.

I have no idea what the problem might be, i tried uninstalling Avast, i tried using other internet browsers and i have tried turning off the firewall, ive also tried Reseting the Modem/Router.

So i dont know what to do, is it the Modems fault? Or the computers?

Thanks in Advance! :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 05:25 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,252

My System Specs

Default

Judging by the reviews on those usb antennae they can be prone to dropped signals, overheating and sometimes outright failure after a few months. I had an Asus unit and even though it was regarded as one of the better ones it was no powerhouse. My router is in the basement ceiling area and it could barely pick up a signal on the upper floor in a two story. My Dlink pcie card is doing much better in the same spot. If you change the stick over to another computer is it flakey too? Might be time to try a better unit.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 06:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default

Well, the thing is i dont have a built in PCI card that picks up the wifi. The actual Modem/Router is hanging in the ceiling on the bottom floor, and it usually picks up 4-5 bars. In my mobo i have only chorded internet, so i bought a USB thingy from Belkin to pick up the wifi, and yeah, when i resetted the TP-Link modem, i felt that it was kinda hot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 06:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default

And ive tried with another USB thingy from Asus, and it performed worse actually, only got 2-3 bars.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 08:28 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

why not go wired connection ? also what modem/router/wifi using for network?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 08:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
why not go wired connection ? also what modem/router/wifi using for network?
Mom dosent want to change back haha :( I have a TP-Link Modem and Router in one. Model "300Mbps Wireless N ADSL2+ Modem Router TD-W8961ND"
The modem/router is wireless but it has 4 chord-ports too.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 08:45 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,252

My System Specs

Default

If you have a spare pcie slot you could try one of these:

D-Link Xtreme N PCI Express Desktop Adapter at Memory Express Computers

I don't think you will improve a usb unless you move it or the router closer to each other.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 05:23 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A_Dude View Post
Mom dosent want to change back haha :( I have a TP-Link Modem and Router in one. Model "300Mbps Wireless N ADSL2+ Modem Router TD-W8961ND"
The modem/router is wireless but it has 4 chord-ports too.
well i see a firmware update _V1_100617 fixes

Fix the low rate of wireless connection.
Add the compatibility with the XBOX.
Fix the problem that IGMP SOONP not take effect.

to verifi what version got
first read manual pdf then check firmware by sticker or run web intergration

momma whats all the power with you on air
if plugged in router will share the internet bandwidth with her

Last edited by KaptCrunch; November 6, 2011 at 05:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 10:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
well i see a firmware update _V1_100617 fixes

Fix the low rate of wireless connection.
Add the compatibility with the XBOX.
Fix the problem that IGMP SOONP not take effect.

to verifi what version got
first read manual pdf then check firmware by sticker or run web intergration

momma whats all the power with you on air
if plugged in router will share the internet bandwidth with her
Thanks, i Will try that, i also spoke with My ISP, they said that there was something sting with the wireing in My area so they Will replace it monday-wednesday
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diablo 3...requires constant internet connection PerryC Gaming 62 September 10, 2011 12:56 PM
Gaming - Internet Connection options? TokeR Networking 4 January 28, 2011 10:54 AM
Internet Connection Sharing lowfat Networking 2 February 15, 2010 08:15 PM
DIR-615 Losing internet connection... Ironmonk Troubleshooting 8 November 16, 2009 08:50 PM
Internet freezes following connection/disconnection to BT? chouchou Networking 7 April 2, 2009 08:38 PM