Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 1, 2011, 02:10 PM
Rookie

Default Hard drive not showing up when booting from SSD

Hi guys/girls. I'm new at this and dont get much so sorry if im wasting ur time. So i'm having some problems with my hardrive not showing up after i completed my new build. It's a completely new HDD and im trying use it as a storage while my windows and boot stuff is on the ssd. But for some reason when i go to my device manager my hardrive shows up but it doesnt let me browse it and it doesnt show when i go to the computer. Its up to date with the latest driver and everything i ran out of ideas so help me please haha thank you.
Old November 1, 2011, 02:21 PM
F@H

My System Specs

you probably need to make a partition and assign a drive letter. You do this from the drive management console:

1. Click on Start
2. Enter diskmgmt.msc into the search field

You should see the drive and be able to make your necessary changes from there.
Old November 1, 2011, 02:27 PM
Rookie

Oh thank you i did and its not on there. Is that a big problem?
Old November 1, 2011, 02:29 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Try deleting the driver from your device manager, and reboot your system. If Windows Drive Manager still can't see the drive after reinstalling the driver, you may have a faulty HDD.
Old November 1, 2011, 02:39 PM
Rookie

oh damn alright I will try that thanks
Old November 1, 2011, 02:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

I had the same thing happen to me and when I went into diskmgmt.msc I didn't see the drive up top but when I scolled on the bottom part the drive was there but it just didn't have a Letter . after I right clicked and gave it one of the Available letters it showed up.
Old November 1, 2011, 02:51 PM
Rookie

Oh i didnt check the bottom ima do that now
Old November 1, 2011, 03:12 PM
Hall Of Fame

seems to me the HDD is unformatted or bad data cable