Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 10:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 58

My System Specs

Default Boot screen appear twice before Windows Starting up

Hey Guys,

I just assembled a new PC, the board that I am using is Maximus IV Extreme-Z.
My System is on the Vertex 3 running on the Intel Chipset, my Marvell Chipset got nothing plugged in.

However whenever I Start the PC, the Boot screen appears (press del to enter setup, etc), then it looked like it was checking on all the SATA drives, then reboots, showed the boot screen again, its doing similiar kind of checkings, then finally going into windows.

The whole boot and reboot took less than 5 seconds, but Is that normal?
Plus i noticed that on 1 of the boot, it was saying like nothing is detected on the marvell chipset.
So I am assuming that the first boot checks on Marvell, second boot checks on Intel chipset.
But It just confuses me.
Please share your thoughts guys.. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 10:07 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

If you don't want to see it, disable your secondary SATA chipset in BIOS.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 10:14 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 58

My System Specs

Default

I have disabled the Marvell controller in BIOS already, but it still boots up twice.. but the difference is, on the second boot, there is no checking being done anymore.. just some underscore on the top left corner. =/
what is wrong here? =/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 10:44 AM
LaughingCrow's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 393
Default

It's been a while and my memory is foggy about the details. But IIRC, I was getting a double boot with memory settings in the BIOS that weren't quite right. That is, the system would boot and hiccup with the settings, reset it and reboot with the revised settings - once I changed the settings, it went back to a normal single boot. If I remember more details I'll post, but memory or other settings in the BIOS might be a place to double check.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 11:43 AM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

To fix double post: There is an option in the bios in advanced mode.

Under Boot change the setting for Option ROM Messages from Force bios to Keep Current.... should work
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2011, 07:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 58

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Guys... Changing the Option ROM Messages to "Keep Current" fixed it! XD Didn't know that before.. hehehe.. thank you!! XD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artifacts on boot screen and integrated graphics in Windows [GPU is dead?] Psycho-Designs Troubleshooting 11 October 20, 2011 10:31 PM
Win7 Hangup on Windows starting screen clouter O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 August 27, 2011 09:46 AM
Win7 starting screen looking weird, but.... t_mo_t Troubleshooting 13 April 14, 2010 10:25 PM
Screen dosnt boot CactusJoe Troubleshooting 13 January 27, 2009 04:28 PM
Blank screen on boot? Matt Troubleshooting 0 January 22, 2009 04:57 PM