Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 03:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Default GPU driver problem

HI guys recently bought and built a new system and found that i have to re install GPU drivers every time i boot up from a shut down, not a restart. I have downloaded the latest drivers from Nvidia and install them each and every time. This is my first build and am having doubts if i have assembled it correctly. Please Help!!!

Specs:
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
i7-2600 (Stock Clock)
8 GB ram
ASUS GeForce GTX 570 CUII
WD Caviar Black 1TB
OCZ Agility 60GB
LG DVD Burner
Corsair AX 850W
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 08:39 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

Couple things to check:
-your power connections. All of them but particularly the ones to your vid card. Turn off system, unplug from wall, check every connection. Look in motherboard manual to make sure all the right stuff is going to the right place.
-could be something in your bios. Did you update your bios and all drivers with the latest versions on Gigabyte's website?
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 10:01 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Could be a dead or dying cmos battery...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 10:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,582
Default

I question if your drivers are being installed correctly in the first place. in addition to above, if it's a new rig, I'd also just take the worst case scenario and reformat it, give it a nice fresh start, along with the above suggestions. I doubt the battery would be dying on a new motherboard, nor would that affect GPU drivers in the OS.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 11:29 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

If the bios isn't detecting the card properly it would appear as new hardware and the drivers won't load... The fact that it only happens when the machine is turned off suggests the cmos isn't retaining data, hence why I suggested checking the battery... It's a longshot on a new board but I've had it happen before...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 02:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

eh i had that happen with my card

i either had to go through windows 7 to install the driver or went directly to amd and re-download
uninstall the old one and reinstall
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2011, 04:47 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,406

My System Specs

Default

is your card detected in the device manager ?
I would go to the device manager find your card and right click remove your card then reboot see what happens, win7 should (after the reboot) detect new hardware when that happens you can either stop it from automatically installing the driver and just install manually or let the win7 search for the driver to install.
another thing it could be is that you are not installing with Administrative privileges
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 09:19 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,097

My System Specs

Default

What driver are you on? The 280 series are known to cause many issues. Try an older set. The 260 series are stable and worth a try.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2011, 11:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Default

I went into a local computer shop with my PC and gave them the problem. The simply disabled the USUS utility and everything worked great.

REMEMBER DO NOT INSTALL ASUS UTILITY lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driver headsh0t Gaming 12 June 18, 2012 11:02 AM
My driver problem is solved grifter11 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 September 10, 2011 12:34 PM
could this be a game problem or a video driver problem? Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 December 17, 2010 07:01 AM
how can I tell if my Xonar dx card is messedup or a driver problem? Shadowmeph Audio 8 July 24, 2009 02:17 PM
is it linux ati driver problem or the Card itself Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 March 15, 2008 08:10 PM