Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/troubleshooting/)
-   -   GPU driver problem (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/troubleshooting/47186-gpu-driver-problem.html)

SuperBbqLover October 10, 2011 02:29 AM

GPU driver problem

HI guys recently bought and built a new system and found that i have to re install GPU drivers every time i boot up from a shut down, not a restart. I have downloaded the latest drivers from Nvidia and install them each and every time. This is my first build and am having doubts if i have assembled it correctly. Please Help!!!

Specs:
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
i7-2600 (Stock Clock)
8 GB ram
ASUS GeForce GTX 570 CUII
WD Caviar Black 1TB
OCZ Agility 60GB
LG DVD Burner
Corsair AX 850W

keto October 10, 2011 07:39 AM

Couple things to check:
-your power connections. All of them but particularly the ones to your vid card. Turn off system, unplug from wall, check every connection. Look in motherboard manual to make sure all the right stuff is going to the right place.
-could be something in your bios. Did you update your bios and all drivers with the latest versions on Gigabyte's website?

boggtrotter59 October 10, 2011 09:01 AM

Could be a dead or dying cmos battery...

LarkStarr October 10, 2011 09:46 AM

I question if your drivers are being installed correctly in the first place. in addition to above, if it's a new rig, I'd also just take the worst case scenario and reformat it, give it a nice fresh start, along with the above suggestions. I doubt the battery would be dying on a new motherboard, nor would that affect GPU drivers in the OS.

boggtrotter59 October 10, 2011 10:29 AM