Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2011, 12:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Default Monitor problems

Hey what's up?
I recently hooked up 2 monitors to my computer. I noticed one day while gaming that the secondary display( LG Flantron E2040T, newest monitor I have) did the thing old tv's do. A small little black line went from the bottom to the top, and it glitches. Now my main display does this too... Any idea what happened or what I should fix?

NOTE: My friend was trying to optimize a game so he opened ATI Technologies and tried changing the temps and fan speeds and stuff. I think that may be the problem, but, I auto configured it and it's still doing that.

Please help :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2011, 07:07 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

try booting in safe mode to see if line is gone, if is then driver/rez issue

get current video drivers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2011, 04:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Default

I have all the current drivers.
I'll try safe mode.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 09:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 26
Default

If someone messed with the clock settings, you could be overclocking your card. Just try reset the driver settings to default (there's usually a button for that on every page in the drivers settings)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2011, 02:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Default

I have reset everything and it is still doing the glitching thing.
However, I noticed with a fresh startup (nothing selected on startup) it will not do this, only when AMD catalyst is open/has been open
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2011, 09:23 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

seems driver issues for in safe mode is OK

best run a driver cleaner to remove old files and load current catalyst driver
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2011, 01:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
seems driver issues for in safe mode is OK

best run a driver cleaner to remove old files and load current catalyst driver
What is a driver cleaner, sir?

EDIT: I can't boot to safe mode - " Disk Read Error "

Last edited by PH93; October 14, 2011 at 07:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2011, 07:32 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

ccleaner, driver sweeper are some apps for removing drivers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2011, 08:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
ccleaner, driver sweeper are some apps for removing drivers
I use Ccleaner, so i'll try the second one, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2011, 11:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Default

Driver Sweeper seemed to work, thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 560 Ti problems. adamdavidson Troubleshooting 8 April 4, 2011 12:21 PM
Monitor return problems.. tray Display Units 11 March 1, 2011 10:58 AM
rebooting problems with new monitor soambiatch Display Units 2 January 10, 2011 06:24 PM
Gtx 260 problems WolfBane Troubleshooting 15 September 6, 2009 01:50 PM
Dual monitor problems ragenrok Video Cards 4 May 4, 2007 12:34 PM