Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 05:27 PM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default Asus P5Q-E no post

The computer turns for about 5 seconds, turns off, then comes right back on. It does not post then it turns it self off after about 30 seconds and stays off..

No sure what to do
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 07:07 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertuxedopants View Post
The computer turns for about 5 seconds, turns off, then comes right back on. It does not post then it turns it self off after about 30 seconds and stays off..

No sure what to do
Start process of elimination.

Take out one RAM stick if you have two or more. Then alternate to see if anything changes. What is your PSU plugged into?

Only have the computer & monitor plugged in to a surge protector, for e.g., nothing else.

Any way of getting a hold of a power supply tester?

Do you have a spare video card to test that you know works so you can eliminate a video card problem. I bet it's not that, though.

This sounds memory related or power supply related although a mobo that has some issue might contribute or cause such an issue?

Anyone else? Maybe I'm off on the wrong track but I'm just suggesting some relatively easy things to try.

I believe when a computer does that, it's testing some component (and feature) and something doesn't work properly so as a safeguard, it turns itself off. Try to borrow some memory sticks and another power supply to make sure it's none of yours that is contributing to the problem.

Edit: two other things to try:
1) check your BIOS if you can get to it...if not, try #2
2) check your power connections/connectors, that your cables are plugged in properly

Last edited by Borg; September 24, 2011 at 07:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 07:12 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Some basic info and tips here:
CPU, RAM and Motherboard Troubleshooting - PC Memory, Processor and Motherboard Diagnostic Flowchart

There are many more tips to be found using the power of google. You may have to pull everything out of your case and put mobo on non conductive surface. You then add what you need for components in an orderly fashion while booting up to see if you can isolate the component that is fubared. In my experience most of my problems have been ram related.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 07:19 PM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default

Before trying anything else, unplgug power cables to mobo, take out cmos battery, wait 5 seconds, replug everything, including battery, and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 08:38 PM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

I think its the motherboard. The CPU power pins were bent a little so i bent them back. Could a wrongly seated heatsink cause posting problems?

EDIT: Also does it make a difference that the Motherboard is not mounted in a case. Its just sitting on top of a motherboard box?

thanks!
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up

Last edited by Mistertuxedopants; September 24, 2011 at 09:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 11:17 PM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default

I have run my computer caseless many times, all work 100%. Are you sure though you didn't short it some how?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2011, 03:48 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertuxedopants View Post
I think its the motherboard. The CPU power pins were bent a little so i bent them back. Could a wrongly seated heatsink cause posting problems?

EDIT: Also does it make a difference that the Motherboard is not mounted in a case. Its just sitting on top of a motherboard box?

thanks!
I'd say definitely for the first one and not necessarily for the 2nd.

As NI3 says, it's possible to run things with the mobo out of the case.

But, if the heat sink is not properly seated, then the cpu isn't having the heat absorbed enough. In fact, I'd bet that is your problem.

If you can tell it's not properly seated (bent pins etc), you ought to re-apply the thermal compound, for e.g. Arctic Silver 5, and try booting again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2011, 06:36 AM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NI3 View Post
I have run my computer caseless many times, all work 100%. Are you sure though you didn't short it some how?
Ding ding ding, i am pretty sure i shorted the motherboard some how. I found an Asus P5K that i had laying around. Swapped all the part onto that and it booted no problem.

damn that was a good board tooooo

Thanks for all your help guys
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2011, 06:57 AM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

Are there any split caps on the board? I know the issue is resolved however there was a.few gens of asus popping caps for fun...I cant count the number of comps I recieved where thst was the issue. Thankfully they changed capmfg or I wouldnt touch them
__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 04:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertuxedopants View Post
Ding ding ding, i am pretty sure i shorted the motherboard some how. I found an Asus P5K that i had laying around. Swapped all the part onto that and it booted no problem.

damn that was a good board tooooo

Thanks for all your help guys
I am posting this because I saw you are online and my issue is similar. My system starts for 2 seconds, then stops for another couple of seconds and then on again, but no post. I have changed the video card, nothing. This is a system that was working ok until this afternoon. Any suggestions please??
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS p6x58D Premium versus Asus Rampage Extreme III Timid newbe New Builds 2 August 17, 2010 01:09 PM
Using ASUS p6x58D Premium or ASUS ROG in Crossfire Timid newbe New Builds 1 August 15, 2010 01:06 AM
Installing SSD & W7 (Using Asus Recovery Disc) On Asus G51J Notebooks rjbarker Mobile Computing 0 February 19, 2010 11:36 AM
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 POST Times? jwebby CPU's and Motherboards 4 October 26, 2009 09:48 AM
ASUS Rampage Extreme or ASUS Maximus II Formula AmuseMe CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 20, 2009 09:46 AM