Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 11:04 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Default hanging abit when booting up

Hello just built my new rig with a 2600k on a p8z68 vpro board with win7 on a SSD 128 m4.
not overclocked atm ,
but seems to go to post screen hangs for a while then it does a lap like goes to check marvel driver screen then comes back to post screen once again ( screen where click delete for bios)

then eventually it loads up to windows. it just to be alottttt slower then my old system yet its a SSD and newer chip etc

any idea's why thanks in advance for replys.

latest bios and firmware on SSD . just installled all drivers etc of mobo disk as its not that old and not many updates on asus site
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 02:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Default

when pc is just sitting there in idle . is it normal for the core speed to stay at 3800 mhz then drop down to 1600 every so often . the v core and multiplier droppin

i havent overclocked the chip yet but standard is 3.4 as shown in pictures
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 02:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Default

Attached Images
   

Last edited by bertz; September 16, 2011 at 02:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 02:26 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

You can simply disable the marvell controller if you're not using it, or stop it checking by going to advanced mode in the bios

advanced tab>onboard devices configuration>marvell storage oprom>set to disable

To stop the double spash screen:

advanced> Boot> change the setting for Option ROM Messages from Force bios to Keep Current

Hope this helps
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 02:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G777 View Post
You can simply disable the marvell controller if you're not using it, or stop it checking by going to advanced mode in the bios

advanced tab>onboard devices configuration>marvell storage oprom>set to disable

To stop the double spash screen:

advanced> Boot> change the setting for Option ROM Messages from Force bios to Keep Current

Hope this helps
ah thanks for the reply to my problem does this look normal as im new to all this ?

also do i need them marvell for my SSD ? and the other option to , or can i follow your commands and turn them off sorry as you can see im not very good on these things
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 02:45 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertz View Post
when pc is just sitting there in idle . is it normal for the core speed to stay at 3800 mhz then drop down to 1600 every so often . the v core and multiplier droppin

i havent overclocked the chip yet but standard is 3.4 as shown in pictures
Perfectly normal for your voltage and clocks to go up and down like that while using speedstep.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 02:48 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Probably worthwhile to read over what the motherboard manual says, it'll also shed some light on some of the bios changes. AFAIK you should be using the intel controller for the boot drive, whether you need the marvell will depend on how many other devices you need to connect.

Your cpu is just throttling (speedstep) to conserve power, cpuz looks normal. The turbo v looks funny for the bclk setting, could just be how it shows up at low power, not sure.

Here's what the bios screen looks like
Attached Images
 
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 03:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 34
Default

thanks alot G777 on the info its quicker booting up now i have disabled them options.


whether you need the marvell will depend on how many other devices you need to connect < i have 3 more sata storage drives to connect to it

Last edited by bertz; September 16, 2011 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP Hanging on reboot Blu O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 January 28, 2011 02:58 PM
3dmark vantage hanging? CMetaphor Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 June 8, 2009 07:50 AM
Notfred's folding appliance keeps hanging ... Synth HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 May 19, 2009 05:31 PM
[WTB] Old Abit NF7-S 2.0 mobo Shar Buy/Sell & Trade 6 December 19, 2008 12:32 PM
Abit IP35-E BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 0 September 24, 2007 11:38 PM