Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 09:08 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default Blue Screen 2500K OC

Been trying to overclock this 2500K on an EVGA P67 SLI.

Tried combinations of 45 - 48 multiplier and vcores ranging from 1.35 - 1.415 (even at 45x multi) and it all results in blue screen. I refuse to believe this piece of silicon can't even do 4.5ghz at 1.415v...there must be something wrong with my bios settings (pics included). Anyone can spot the problem?

Image 1

Image 2

Image 3

P.S. default EUFI(bios) settings work fine
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 09:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Quick glance, 2 potential problems - turbo boost and vdroop.

A better method would be to either use the board's dummy oc and see if the chip will overclock or simply try 4.2ghz at 1.4v.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 09:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

dissable c3 report
bump dimm voltage to 1.55
reduce pll to 1.7v
cpu vcore 1.38v
vccio 1.12v
what ram you usin
speed n timings
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 10:10 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 412
Default

thx for the suggestions.

@zsamz using 2x4gb 1.5v 1600mhz 9-9-9-24 rated mushkin kit (set to 1333 while trying to get CPU OC). Set the settings to what u said at 45x multi (except PLL as it cant go under 1.8v) and still BSOD...

@ilya you need turbo boost to OC sandy bridge (without TB clocks lock at 3.3) and selecting "without vdroop" just adds to the vcore setting it about 0.1 - 0.2 higher than what you set it at under load...

Edit:

Even if i set the Vcore to 1.38 on bios cpuz never shows it going above 1.29V.
Its stable at 4.3 after 16 prime95 tests but failing at 4.5 after test 1

Edit 2:

realized with disabled vdroop and lesser voltage to compensate the extra evga adds on I can get the voltage to more or less what i want...but still not stable at 1.4v 4.5ghz

Edit 3:

Solved! It was EVGA ELEET trolling me...thought it was their overclocking via OS tool but enabling it in bios makes the voltage stable enough to get 4.6ghz on 1.35v where I settled...

screenshot to come soon after a few hours of prime...

Edit 4:

did run for a few but no screeny, so here is a 1hour in screeny...


Last edited by BrutalGreen; September 15, 2011 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI 4850 Blue Screen jcmaz Troubleshooting 7 August 3, 2010 12:33 AM
Blue Screen when Idle? HalifaxJ Troubleshooting 15 March 16, 2009 06:31 AM
Blue screen keeping me out of windows. Jake_HT Troubleshooting 0 February 2, 2009 09:02 AM
THE BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH! help please! shayan288 Troubleshooting 5 October 19, 2008 02:23 AM
Slow internet and blue screen yycraven Troubleshooting 14 August 6, 2008 12:30 AM