Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 05:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default memtest

Here's a simple one. How many passes should memtest be run for ram testing?
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 03:18 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 719
Default

The common rule of thumb is 24 hours. However, I only use that method only if problems keep coming up after a few hours of scanning with clean results. Most of my faulty RAM failed within the first pass.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2011, 11:39 PM
LaughingCrow's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

I think it would depend on your circumstances and how much time you can devote for testing. A new build I've settled for running it 4 or 5 times for each stick. Suspected memory problems on an older system, I pull all memory, inspect, re-insert and test one at a time more thoroughly, then test them all together.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2011, 10:23 AM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default

When overclocking RAM, I usually let it complete 4-5 passes and then check with Prime95 large FFT's. Oddly, I've had RAM that passes Memtest with flying colours, but fails Prime95 large FFT's within a few seconds. So, that's why I usually like to have a second opinion...just some food for thought. :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2011, 10:28 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

i never bother more than 1 full pass
n i always start with 1 pass of test 5 then full pass
if ram faulty shows up real fast in test 5
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2011, 10:42 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsamz_ View Post
i never bother more than 1 full pass
n i always start with 1 pass of test 5 then full pass
if ram faulty shows up real fast in test 5
Agreed, though I tend to go more than 1 pass, usally 5 passes.
IIRC test 5 for RAM test 8 for motherboard stability.

Though TBH nowadays I usually just use HCI memtest rather than memtest.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2011, 05:18 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

When I build a machine I do one pass of memtest just to make sure I'm not wasting my time.

I've had faulty RAM that let me install Windows and completely destroy the install in the hour or two it took me to set up the computer.

In my experience, if RAM passes the 30 day mark it'll generally run for quite a while (maybe forever)

If I'm working on an unknown machine I'll let it run overnight if it's convenient to do so.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2011, 06:28 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,985

My System Specs

Default

1 or 2. If it's gonna fail it will almost always fail first pass (with lots of errors) Sometimes when working with cheaper ram, if it does 1 or 2 passes successfully and then starts to get an error or 2 per pass, it's just over heating, when really it's fine.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do you get out of memtest??!! LacrosseTown Troubleshooting 13 May 21, 2010 06:33 PM
Memtest Freezes appplejack RAM 2 December 22, 2008 01:05 PM
Memtest + ??? crazyhorsejohnny Troubleshooting 15 November 26, 2008 08:32 PM
New Memtest v2.10 is released yamawho O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 November 15, 2008 06:29 PM
Questions about memtest shayan288 Troubleshooting 15 October 19, 2008 02:55 PM