Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2008, 12:14 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default Motheboard wont Post

I recently got a DFI LT X38-T2R, and last night it decided it doesn't want to boot anymore. The error code LED says C1, which is a RAM problem. So first thing did was reset the CMOS (I tried both the EZ reset and the jumper method). I proceeded to try each stick of RAM individually, each still producing the C1 error. I then pulled a stick of PC2-4200 from my brother's computer, which I know to be working. Still got the C1 error. I also tried all of my RAM in my brothers computer, and it booted fine. I then set the jumpers to reset the CMOS, pulled the battery, unplugged it and left it overnight (10h or so). I then tried booting with my brother's RAM again, and still got the C1 error. I think that my motherboard may have died, but I was hoping someone might have another idea which might save me the trouble of doing an RMA.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2008, 12:28 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Is the C1 error while booting, or can you access the BIOS? If not, from a troubleshooting standpoint you did all that could be done. Time to RMA.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2008, 12:39 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

The only (however slight) possibility might be the PSU (one of the rails might have given up the ghost). Do you have another PSU you can slave in?

After that.... I'd be looking at RMA (assuming you tried an out-of-case boot to ensure that there aren't any shorts).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2008, 01:01 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

I'm going to pull the motherboard now, and try it with my brother's PSU (and his X800 so there isn't too much load). I already submitted an RMA thing to NCIX, but hopefully I wont have to actually use it. Thanks for the suggestions.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2008, 07:04 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default

your mobo is fine, the x38 is just very very picky about ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
argh, anyone know why my DS3L wont save any BIOS settings? donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 19 January 19, 2008 09:41 AM
dvd-r wont play dvds magictorch Storage 7 September 27, 2007 01:41 AM
Windows wont start SCW O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 September 25, 2007 01:17 AM
Help games wont start or work well! mailaw Gaming 2 September 2, 2007 05:10 PM
Need Help!!! Vista wont Install! CMetaphor O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 May 18, 2007 07:25 AM