Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 06:28 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default router/wireless problems

well i have a friend who has a d-link wbr 1310 wireless router and when he tries to connect from his laptop to the wireless network, he cant find the wireless network in the list of possible networks. anyone have any idea what is happening? oh yea, he also has a iphone, and that can connect to the internet from it so im really stumped on what the problem is. also the led triangle and the led wireless thing flash in a slow constant rate, is there a problem with the router or something? thx
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 06:36 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 15,619

My System Specs


Does he have SSID broadcast enabled?

That's the function on a wireless router that says "here I am!!! gimme your password and I'll let you in......"

What I normally do is enable it when I'm hooking up a new wireless card and then disable once the connection is made for the first time.
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
Corsair 380T / Corsair H100i GTX AIO/ Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2008, 01:12 PM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 206

My System Specs


Even with SSID broadcast turned off the unit should can still show up as . I just did this last night with the Linksys WRT300N router.

Wireless is way finicky though, especially with security like WEP or WPA enabled.

I usually drop back to defaults, no security and SSID broadcast and get the setup working that way before I tighten it down. It makes it easier to determine where the problem is.

Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time for a new Router Cptn Vortex Networking 7 March 12, 2008 05:31 PM
Gigabit router - things to consider? Mr. Cipher Networking 3 March 3, 2008 09:28 AM
Wireless router, G vs. N Matty D Networking 5 January 9, 2008 11:01 PM
Router help? DSNB Networking 1 January 9, 2008 11:00 PM
Wireless Router Recommendations? ScytheNoire Networking 14 December 18, 2007 06:57 AM