Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 03:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default iceq3 3870 auto fan presets changed?

Ok, this is a wierd one......

I changed to the 8.2 drivers and tried to do some benching with an opengl 100% gpu stress test and since then my low-end fan speed readings are sitting at 16% vice the old 30% (even had it reading at 0% for a while).

My system won't run at the 100% gpu stress, it dies within a minute or so (black screen of death).

Riva tuner still reads the auto bios settings as being what they were before.

Any ideas?

(I'm able to complete 3DMark `06, maybe the card was never able to run 100% gpu stress........)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 04:14 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

have you tired to edit that auto table ia rivatune?

of even setr the fan to lets say 50% and complete the test to see if its the fan that is making it crash and not the driver!?!?!
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 04:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebdoradz View Post
have you tired to edit that auto table ia rivatune?

of even setr the fan to lets say 50% and complete the test to see if its the fan that is making it crash and not the driver!?!?!
I've never been able to edit the auto table using riva tuner, but I can set it to 100% and it seems to be running my games & a slightly lower load GPU test fine.

Maybe it's always been 16% under 60c and I've just never noticed.........

This is the first time I've tried that particular stess test on this card so it's possible that it's never been able to run it.........
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 07:07 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

i have modify the table of the Auto setting on my X1950XT and its working great ...

i will check in my note to see if i can find it

EDIT:

Under Power User, scroll down until you see Rivatuner/FAN
then press de + thing to open the hidden key

next to the AutoFanSpeedControl, insert an 3 there

apply and reboot

then under the overlcoking/fan setting you will be abble to double click in the "auto table" fan speed to change the % of the fan duty, you will also be abble to chnage the temperature setting for that fan duty (%)

hope its clear enough ....for you to understand
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb



Last edited by ebdoradz; February 16, 2008 at 07:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 07:17 PM
Ugly n Grey's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 132
Default

Most of the 3870 BIOS have borked fan controls. There's a few good ones posted at XS, Techpowerup etc... I don't really game at all (I mean I play old strategy games that would run on an IGP) I only fool with video cards for fun so I haven't really panicked that my 3970 fan controls are so lousy. I just set it to a 100 and bench away. Stock cooler is about to hit the box it came in anyway (for me).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2008, 07:23 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

see my edit post for a quick "how to" change the auto table for the fan duty
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2008, 10:42 AM
Il Duce's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: T.O
Posts: 512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ugly n Grey View Post
Most of the 3870 BIOS have borked fan controls. There's a few good ones posted at XS, Techpowerup etc... I don't really game at all (I mean I play old strategy games that would run on an IGP) I only fool with video cards for fun so I haven't really panicked that my 3970 fan controls are so lousy. I just set it to a 100 and bench away. Stock cooler is about to hit the box it came in anyway (for me).
I did the same too. Just used rivatuner and made it my fanspeed 80% upon start up. Yea the whole fan thing/temp problem is a problem. I've found a ton of forums discussing this as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is this a good deal for a HIS Radeon HD 3870 ICEQ3 775MHZ 512MB 256BIT GDDR4 Shadowmeph Video Cards 8 March 3, 2008 12:26 PM
Hard to find HIS 3870 ICEQ3 or Instock 3850 ICEQ3 Turbox BALISTX Video Cards 7 January 25, 2008 08:51 PM
HIS Radeon HD 3870 ICEQ3 BALISTX Video Cards 28 January 12, 2008 01:10 PM
Changed the site again! Me likes! Cptn Vortex Suggestions & Feedback 3 December 13, 2007 01:39 PM
Auto edit BrainEater Suggestions & Feedback 3 March 19, 2007 11:16 PM