Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 11:30 AM
genericllama's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lorraine, Quebec.
Posts: 93
Default Monitor no signal - after weird circumstances

This is essentially what happened.
Load up a few video files streaming from a web site. BSOD
Upon resart the pc hangs constantly post asus mobo logo pre win xp logo.
after removing and replacing/resetting ram slots, computer loaded up fine (as far as harddrive spinning, regular noises etc) however now my monitor cant receive the dvi signal.

Ive reset the cmos, cleaned out alot of dust(still more to clean unfortunately, its a rare occasion i do this)
i know the monitor works because my game console plays fine on it. Im not computer retarded which is a plus but i am stuck, i think maybe either my videocard is dieing or my ram may have memory errors. (unfortunately i dont have any spare ram or video cards to swap out and test)

Anyone have some possible advice and or ideas? its good for me if people bounce ideas of me.

Thanks,
Tom

(Im a long time lurker and first time poster so i apologize if it comes off rude to post in a troubleshoot forum for a first post heh)

Pc specs
asus p5q vanilla
evga 9800 gt
4 gigs mushkin redlines ddr2
500gig sata western digital
e8400 wolfdale 3ghz dual

Last edited by genericllama; September 3, 2011 at 05:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 12:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

i know you said replacing/resetting ram

did you try just 1 ram stick at a time ?

it would help rule out memory
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 12:58 PM
genericllama's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lorraine, Quebec.
Posts: 93
Default

well i did initially which changed the problem from the boot failure to the lack of dvi signal. Just tried again and still the same, no dvi signal
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 12:58 PM
Funguseater's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default Some ideas

Hi Genericllama

Does your GPU have multiple outputs? Like an s-video or a different DVI? I had one of the DVI ports on my 7900GTX fail and had to switch to the other one. About 6 months later the thing totally died.

Just bouncing some ideas here,(Have you tried a different PCI-E slot)
DARN ONLY ONE SLOT I SEE
, do you have a friend that will let you try your video card in their PC?

Sorry just read you tried this. Is your video card selected in BIOS? Maybe clear bios on the Motherboard and double check all of your Bios settings.

Is there a computer repair/used part buisness around you, you could buy a used old PCI-E card and at least test the slot.

Hope some of these ideas will spark something....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 01:31 PM
genericllama's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lorraine, Quebec.
Posts: 93
Default

well i cant load into the bios(per say) because my screen doesn't even get a signal to see what im looking at. as far as multiple ports of dvi, i just tried both dvi slots and both equally dont work, still no signal.


was hoping on avoiding purchasing a new graphics card and or ram to further troubleshoot but it may just have to happen :/



keep the ideas flowing folks. Its all very much appreciated. I haven't given up hope yet.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 01:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Get a POST indicator or plug in a motherboard speaker. My guess would be a graphics card in need of some baking, assuming you didn't miss anything obvious like a power connector.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 02:51 PM
genericllama's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lorraine, Quebec.
Posts: 93
Default

could it be maybe that too much dust clogged in my psu and maybe its not passing enough power to my graphics card?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 04:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

how dusty is your graphics card as well ?

also have any friends that you can borrow their video card just to test that ?

or...take yours and put in their machine ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 05:05 PM
genericllama's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lorraine, Quebec.
Posts: 93
Default

well, turn of events;
upon cleaning out everything as best as i could i have achieved picture again. which is great! i get the "asus express" and i can see the bios etc, HOWEVER "this is the weird part" My bios recognizes my hard drive BUT during the boot phase the mobo's marvell adapter states that it cannot find hard disk and then it hangs exacly like the initial problem i had to begin with.

essentially im driving myself up the wall.

Edit* at this point ive booted xp from my cd and tried to run a recovery install. It the install worked fine however, it still doesnt boot up. The marvell adapter still doesnt recognize it. ugh!

Last edited by genericllama; September 3, 2011 at 05:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 06:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

that is odd

install worked ?
hmm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Signal Loss Zodiak Troubleshooting 14 August 3, 2011 09:33 AM
Asus maximus CPU LED is red, monitor detects no signal ezytgr Troubleshooting 7 January 19, 2010 06:28 PM
Circumstances made me abandon the lanbox... Neolithium_Wpg New Builds 2 December 17, 2009 07:23 AM
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L No Signal To Monitor Mulder Troubleshooting 51 August 15, 2008 04:01 AM
no signal after installing new vid card oksir Troubleshooting 13 July 15, 2008 09:27 PM