Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 01:28 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer_Vako View Post
well it was idling at about 60 c
Whoa using the default fan profile mine idles at 38c 26-27c ambient.
And I am betting you run your case fans above my 750rpm. So defiantly something going on, is the card drooping at all. I have heard of ppl getting crappy temps and theirs were drooping due to weight. Not all mind you.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 07:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Burbank California
Posts: 9
Default

the card was totally bending down from the weight, I have a corsair 650d case btw, im using the stock fan controller as i only have two controllable fans anyway and they are at max (and still quiet) and i got an h60 sucking out the heat from my cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 08:07 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer_Vako View Post
the card was totally bending down from the weight, I have a corsair 650d case btw, im using the stock fan controller as i only have two controllable fans anyway and they are at max (and still quiet) and i got an h60 sucking out the heat from my cpu.
Hmmm the bend might be the issue, have you reseated the card? TBH I would just do as you are, RMA the card, but I believe reading that someone zip tied theirs up and it worked fine.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 08:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Burbank California
Posts: 9
Default

Ya i just shipped it a few hours ago, i have a gtx 570 version comming as a replacment as he hd 6970 was sold out. but hopefully the backplate on the gtx will make it more sturdy and less prone to bending.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 08:45 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

its not card warp the problen its the sag from the weight
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 02:01 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer_Vako View Post
well it was idling at about 60 c
Now that's a problem with the DirectCU II series. While the heatsink is good (and the card itself is pretty much amazing), the fan control is downright awful, it keeps the fans at idle (1200 ~ 1400 RPM)
Even when it reaches 90(!!) degrees, I have use a custom fan profile through Afterburner.
Maybe in your case it just cooked the it's memory at some point.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 02:30 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT7R View Post
Now that's a problem with the DirectCU II series. While the heatsink is good (and the card itself is pretty much amazing), the fan control is downright awful, it keeps the fans at idle (1200 ~ 1400 RPM)
Even when it reaches 90(!!) degrees, I have use a custom fan profile through Afterburner.
Maybe in your case it just cooked the it's memory at some point.
I hit 70c max in furmark running the default fan profile with exhaust fan at 750rpm, turning my exhaust rpm up to 2000 I hit 63c furmark.
Furmark maxes out my cards temps the most I find.
You can download asus gpu tweak( custom fan profiles are pretty straight forward and plentyful) the current build doesnt support voltage tweaking but it is suppose to. But then again you said you are using Afterburner.
Smart dr is suppose to include it but I hate that peice of software.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 01:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Burbank California
Posts: 9
Default

afterburner dosnt work on the Asus cards because they are not reference cards or something.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 02:59 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer_Vako View Post
afterburner dosnt work on the Asus cards because they are not reference cards or something.
Works beautifully on mine :)
Just that I really don't like the temps I see on my card...
Under Furmark at stock clocks and fans at 100% it's hovering around 85c, when oc'd to 900, - 97-98..
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2011, 03:18 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer_Vako View Post
afterburner dosnt work on the Asus cards because they are not reference cards or something.
No it works, just that AFAIK only Smart Dr supports voltage tweaking on the 6970dcII cards.
GT7R is running a 580dcII so while the cooler is basically the same the gpu is totally different.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Asus GTX560 Ti DirectCUII ($210), Mac Mini & WC Tubing ottoyu34 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 May 21, 2011 03:15 PM
Ping Spikes Every 8 Seconds? Realityshift Networking 10 December 13, 2010 08:36 AM
[FS] Socket A stuff + AGP card + PSU + LCD + lots of stuff ebdoradz Buy/Sell & Trade 13 June 14, 2009 09:14 PM
Lag Spikes!!! automatic Networking 3 January 31, 2009 11:53 PM
Constant Ping spikes Phobia Networking 10 July 24, 2008 06:26 PM