Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2011, 12:28 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 wont turn off.

i bought a Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 along with a 2600k and 8gbs of gskill ram and it works great except for the fact that when i shut it down it turns all the fans to max and the little leds that display the cpu load all turn on. how to i get it to turn off, this is the first Gigabyte board that i have owned so im not familiar with its bios, am i just missing something or should i be returning it and getting something different. i wouldnt care if it didnt make any noise but it makes more noise whens its off than when its turned on. thanks to anyone who can help.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2011, 12:55 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,717
Default

Odd... I've owned a lot of Gigabyte boards, and I've never experienced anything like that. I'd suggest clearing CMOS to be sure. If that doesn't work, return?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2011, 01:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if you hold the power button,does it shut off?

if so,try a live cd,and see if that shuts it down. ive seen a few asus boards who wouldnt shut down on early

winders seven builds. and of course with sp1...god what a nightmare :D
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2011, 02:26 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

well it turns out that it was my power led that was causing it to do that, i unplugged it and it turns off fine now, dont understand why but whatever, i dont need it.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2011, 02:33 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

power led...the one from the case?

hate those things, i only hook up the bare minimum.

good that you got it figured out. and dont diss giga lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2011, 03:23 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle_L View Post
well it turns out that it was my power led that was causing it to do that, i unplugged it and it turns off fine now, dont understand why but whatever, i dont need it.
That's... strange. A short in the pcb maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2011, 08:11 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

polarity issues of LED, flip connector around
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2011, 09:21 PM
kyle_L's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Port Coquitlam, bc
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

yup well its happening again, nothing extra is plugged in, so tomorrow i start running a couple test to make sure everything is working ok and i will phone gigabyte, but by the looks of it i will be returning this board and going with asus again.
__________________
im looking for work.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2011, 09:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

short the pins to make it power up.

then see if you can shut it down via windows. or linux.

if linux is ok,then its not hardware.

edit : do that on your table just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 04:03 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Saw this issue on Asus mobo to. I would just swap the board for the same since this is a very killer board.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gigabyte motherboard wont turn on kuziwk Troubleshooting 2 January 16, 2010 03:43 PM
Comp wont turn on... Zelzubub Troubleshooting 13 May 18, 2009 06:39 PM