Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 04:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Angry No post after ~15 minutes of use.

Put together system.
Install windows.
Install a few programs, a game.
Run game.
Game crashes.
Hard reboot system.
No longer even posts, stuck in infinite reboot.
.


Board is a GA-H67N-USB3-B3 with an Intel Core i3-2120, 8 GB's of Mushkin RAM, an OCZ Agility 3 SSD, all in a Sugo SG05 BB case (450W PSU).

Reviews say some boards are DOA, but not at the site I bought mine from.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 04:19 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Remove the battery and clear CMOS. Then try again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 04:23 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 467

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Remove the battery and clear CMOS. Then try again.
second.
also after the reset check all"default" settings to be sure they are correct
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 04:34 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by x30Jx View Post
Put together system.
Install windows.
Install a few programs, a game.
Run game.
Game crashes.
Hard reboot system.
No longer even posts, stuck in infinite reboot.
.


Board is a GA-H67N-USB3-B3 with an Intel Core i3-2120, 8 GB's of Mushkin RAM, an OCZ Agility 3 SSD, all in a Sugo SG05 BB case (450W PSU).

Reviews say some boards are DOA, but not at the site I bought mine from.

Any ideas?
thats the dual bios trying to kick in

unless you are referring to windows rebooting?

if its the bios, then pull the plug.

power button a few times.

plug the plug back in and wait

nothing happens?

push power button once and wait,itll go tru some weird reboots till the second bios

does the first bios a new one.

else, pull it out the case and start swapping parts.

ive built an army of i3's,lots with giga,asus..etc.

were you on the ups/power bar when it happened? :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 04:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

No effect.

This is a board that has DualBIOS, so wouldn't the backup take over if it was something like that?

In any case, it didn't work. Sad panda.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 04:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
thats the dual bios trying to kick in

unless you are referring to windows rebooting?

if its the bios, then pull the plug.

power button a few times.

plug the plug back in and wait

nothing happens?

push power button once and wait,itll go tru some weird reboots till the second bios

does the first bios a new one.

else, pull it out the case and start swapping parts.

ive built an army of i3's,lots with giga,asus..etc.

were you on the ups/power bar when it happened? :)

Nothing happening yet...

Also, don't really have any parts to swap, but I mean it's not even making POST so what else could it be?

And yes, I was on a power bar, why? (It's never given me ANY trouble, if that is what you were thinking.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2011, 05:29 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 467

My System Specs

Default

its not even making post? but stuck in infinite reboot? elaborate please...perhaps heatsink wasnt properly installed and cpu burnt up? likeliness of the cpu making it through windows install/game install etc is slim to none...but none the less a possibility. personally in your shoes, i would strip the system back down to nothing...and rebuild, double and triple checking everything..
and when i did that , i would pull the cmos battery right untill i hit the power switch to turn it on.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2011, 05:35 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,949
Default

i see bios F5 is current

sounds to me that
@BIOS allows you to update the system BIOS while in the Windows environment. @BIOS will download the latest BIOS file from the nearest @BIOS server site and update the BIOS.

while playing your game system was updating bios when game crashed so did flash leaving your systen DOA

please note system bulders

get all current certified drivers and bios before installing OS

then use F6 option to load drivers

Last edited by KaptCrunch; August 6, 2011 at 06:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD after 5 minutes of turning on Kazushi Erukima Troubleshooting 7 July 5, 2011 11:38 AM
Manage Audio Devices takes a full minutes to open window NineLives O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 April 3, 2011 02:14 PM
Computer Freeze after running less than 3 Minutes. Pelt Troubleshooting 9 February 15, 2010 12:52 PM
Wireless speed drops after a few minutes after boot Zamundaman Networking 0 December 23, 2008 08:26 AM
New rig, games fatals after 5-15 minutes Ironmonk Troubleshooting 22 July 22, 2008 10:06 PM