Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 09:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Exclamation Video Signal Loss

Hello everyone

I am currently experiencing some issues with video signal loss.

Here is my system

Intel Core i7 2600k CPU
Maximus IV Extreme-Z Motherboard
EVGA GTX 580 Hydro Copper 2 FTW Edition (3gb)
ASUS Xonar Xense Sound Card
EVGA GTX 580 Hydro Copper 2 FTW Edition (3gb)
EVGA GTX 580 Hydro Copper 2 FTW Edition (3gb)
(Soon to be a Galaxy GTX 460 Razor Edition for PhysX)
12gb Mushkin Ridgeline DDR3 RAM

Koolance 3K3U Copper Watercooling Unit

Dell UltraSharp 27'' U2711 Monitor 1570x2560 (Portrait Mode)
Dell UltraSharp 27'' U2711 Monitor 1570x2560 (Portrait Mode)
Dell UltraSharp 27'' U2711 Monitor 1570x2560 (Portrait Mode)
Resolution 4710x2560

The problem I am experiencing is that at any given time, watching video or playing video games, I may experience complete signal loss across all 3 video cards and monitors, where I will lose all video signal and my monitors will start searching among its inputs but will not get anything unless I reboot again.

My CPU and each of the video cards is actively cooled by the Koolance 3K3U and the temperatures range between between 25 Celsius idle and under 50 Celsius under full load.

Can anyone please help? I am at a total loss.

Thank you!

Last edited by Zodiak; August 2, 2011 at 10:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 10:25 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,827
Default

Try disabling SLI and see if the issue persists.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 10:28 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

Could be a driver issue, though what is your power supply?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 10:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Oops... I was sure I included my PSU in there. It is the:

OCZ ZX 1250W
OCZ ZX Series 1250W Power Supply - OCZ

and I am using the latest

275.33 drivers from NVIDIA
NVIDIA DRIVERS 275.33 WHQL
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 10:51 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

Were you getting this issue on previous driver versions or did this just begin to happen?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 11:02 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default

I am knowledgeable with computer hardware and had put some together before. This one I had made for me because I have little to no knowledge of water cooling.

I am searching for the solution myself as the person who built the system for me is not always available when I need him.

To answer your question, the system came pre-installed with 275.33 drivers. The problem isn't necessarily linked to the video cards, it could be the motherboard, video cards, sound card or even monitor. That is the biggest problem I am experiencing right now.

As it stands, DVI 1 of each monitor is connected to the first DVI connector of each of the 3 video cards using Dual Link DVI cables because of the higher resolution.

All of the PCI slots are taken up but the entire system temps have been staying bellow 50 Celsius under heavy loads.

I had the same problem when I was using just 1 monitor. I only assembled my 3x monitor setup recently.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 01:38 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

get a blue planet from c tire or a kill a watt and see what you are pulling at the wall.

get only one card going at a time,and see again.

like you said it could be anything.

in some instances,extreme yes,youll be pushing 300 or more watts per video card.


also check ALL your temps,motherboard temps as well with aida64. could be some chippie or the south bridge or anything going past its

'preferred' operating temperature
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 03:14 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 469

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiak View Post
I am knowledgeable with computer hardware and had put some together before. This one I had made for me because I have little to no knowledge of water cooling.

I am searching for the solution myself as the person who built the system for me is not always available when I need him.

To answer your question, the system came pre-installed with 275.33 drivers. The problem isn't necessarily linked to the video cards, it could be the motherboard, video cards, sound card or even monitor. That is the biggest problem I am experiencing right now.

As it stands, DVI 1 of each monitor is connected to the first DVI connector of each of the 3 video cards using Dual Link DVI cables because of the higher resolution.

All of the PCI slots are taken up but the entire system temps have been staying bellow 50 Celsius under heavy loads.

I had the same problem when I was using just 1 monitor. I only assembled my 3x monitor setup recently.
key note in my opinion, i am leaning towards drivers first off, would do a ccleaner and reinstall the latest in nvidia drivers, your psu is plenty strong to run those cards i believe, might not hurt to check out the motherboard drivers as well, could be an update, after that, i would look at what your pulling from the wall, with that system plus 3 24" monitors, you could be stressing your wall socket too much (yes i know it should blow a breaker, but have seen more strange things!)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 06:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Ok I reinstalled the video drivers. I have tried disabling SLI for a while but doing so switches my display back in landscape mode, which appears sideways and makes it hard to use lol.

Why CCleaner though? Doesnt that simply remove temp files and such?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 07:07 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,529
Default

Hrm.

Sounds like an intermittent cable to me.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Severe video signal artifacting kpamir Troubleshooting 2 April 13, 2011 02:01 AM
XFX Security Breach Results in Loss of Limited Edition Video Card FiXT Video Cards 18 April 25, 2010 08:52 PM
Threat Signal - New Song/Video! Killswitch Off Topic 9 August 27, 2009 10:09 PM
At a loss 360Sagacious CPU's and Motherboards 14 March 17, 2009 10:02 PM
How much fps loss kcksteve O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 September 25, 2007 03:54 PM