Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2011, 12:37 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default Computer Crash

Hi guys. A few days ago, my computer BSOD'd while I was watching a video. So I booted it up again and it BSOD'd right as Windows loaded (I have Vista, so basically after the loading bar finishes and the round Windows icon appears). I don't quite remember what it said because it was late and I had stuff to do the next day. So next day, I boot up into safe mode, and I actually manage to get onto my account (everything was still there) and I saved my important documents to a USB stick. However, it BSOD'd again. Seeing as it seemed to let me access Windows for a bit if I let it rest, I waited and started it again. This time, it still let me go into Safe Mode so I backed up the rest of my documents. But after another little while, it of course BSOD's again. Since I had all my important documents, I decided that it wouldn't hurt reinstalling Windows. But I decided to try "Repair" and "Windows Restore" while booting from the Windows disk first in case I can still rescue my programs and stuff. During the "Repair" process, it gave me an error and followed to BSOD. So I give it a while, start up again, and try the "Restore". However, in my stupidity, I guess I forgot to turn System Restore back on after I was clearing old useless Restore Points. So I go back, and try to instal Windows. I got a BSOD again. I don't remember exactly the messages said, but I think one of them was somewhere along the lines of corrupt system 32. It said it might be because of newly installed hardware or software. I didn't instal anything new (hard or soft), so I decided to unplug as many things as I could. I booted it up again and this time it gave a black screen saying something about bad HDD. So right now I'm thinking it's either my HDD's problem or my SATA ports problem. I tried replugging my HDD to different SATA ports, and it seems fine. Also, my ODD can load the windows disk. Should I just RMA my HDD, or do you guys think theres another problem?

Also: How would I wipe my drive clean if I have to send it back to RMA? Seeing as I only have 1 HDD I can barely boot into Windows..

Edit: 0xc00000e9 when Itry to boot to Windows Vista DVD

Last edited by Kommie986; July 30, 2011 at 12:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2011, 01:43 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

get some capitalist sata cables and try again.

but seriously, load up a copy of ubuntu and see if it craps out on you or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2011, 04:19 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
get some capitalist sata cables and try again.

but seriously, load up a copy of ubuntu and see if it craps out on you or not.
I'll try new SATA cable, and what is ubuntu?
Also, any suggestions on how to wipe the drive clean before sending it in to RMA?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2011, 07:23 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kommie986 View Post
I'll try new SATA cable, and what is ubuntu?
Also, any suggestions on how to wipe the drive clean before sending it in to RMA?
Wiping Mechanical Hard Drives
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2011, 07:42 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
How do you propose I do that seeing as I get only about 5 minutes before it crashes? It looks like it too you 10.5 hours...

Changing SATA cables didn't work. Gonna try freezing it to uninstal/unregister Kaspersky and then wipe the rest.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2011, 08:23 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you can boot to dos and wipe it, or put it in another pc and wipe it
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 05:36 AM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

I plugged in an old IDE drive with WinXP installed, and it won't even boot to that. So I"m guessing screwed up board???

Edit: OK, weird, but it seems it is booting now from my IDE drive. Does the IDE and SATA run off the chipest? Now I just have to activate windows... IT seems my instal ID is invalid....

Last edited by Kommie986; July 31, 2011 at 06:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 08:42 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

no....


new hdd,or used hdd with nothing on it,then install.

or use a cd of ubuntu to see maybe its other hw related like board ram..
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 10:29 AM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
no....


new hdd,or used hdd with nothing on it,then install.

or use a cd of ubuntu to see maybe its other hw related like board ram..
I just went out an bought a WD 500GB RE4.Windows instal went a 'lil, then it BSOD'd again. RMA motherboard I guess..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 10:32 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default



guys somebody else help this one out lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIOS Crash ZZLEE Troubleshooting 2 July 6, 2011 10:02 PM
Prime95 Crash NightRain Troubleshooting 5 May 12, 2010 06:11 AM
Can't boot my computer after crash Polygon Troubleshooting 3 November 19, 2009 06:03 PM
no vidio after crash!! ebcogs Troubleshooting 13 September 24, 2009 01:23 PM
Linux first to crash :( Shadowed O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 10, 2007 07:01 AM