Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 07:32 AM
Pax Pax is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 74
Default Case Power Button Broken

I'm not sure if troubleshooting is the best place for this, so if it should be moved, please do so mod :)

Anyway, the power button on my case (HAF932) is broken. Pressing it does not start up the computer, however, sometimes if I would press it a whole bunch, really fast, it might work, or if I held it down for a little bit, it might work. The wire connections on both the front panel and the mobo connectors look fine to me.

I ended up plugging the reset button into the power button spot on the motherboard, and that's been working fine, but I'd like to know what recommendations there are for fixing the power button.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2011, 08:54 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

The switch may just be dirty and a blast of contact cleaner will fit it up
CONTACT & HEAD CLEANER SPRAY | Cleaners | Ratings & Reviews | TheSource.ca

If it's truely broken you can either try to find an exact match at a place like digikey or contact CM and see if they'll send you a new one, or you can pick up one of those vandal switches that the modding crowd likes and drill a hole for it. Or maybe even post a decent picture of it and somebody may have one kicking around they can send you)

Or you can keep using your reset button (or maybe even swap out the 2 since your less likely to press reset)
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2011, 10:54 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

just do a part req @ CM <-----FILL OUT

no gurantees for my exprience they don't stand behind thier products

Last edited by KaptCrunch; July 30, 2011 at 11:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2011, 10:59 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

try cm first,theyre very good for these situations. probably ship you free of charge the little thing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 08:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 95
Default

If you are able to take the face plate/bezel off and get at where the power button hits the switch, try pressing the switch directly (after undoing your reset switch/power button jimmy rig).

If it works with the face off, the problem could just be the button which recesses in and hits the switch. You may need to build it up with hot glue or something.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2011, 11:19 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,716

My System Specs

Default

idk what support for this is like on motherboards nowadays, but you might try looking in the BIOS to see if you can set a combo on your keyboard to start up your PC. That would result in less wear on your power button should you replace/notreplace it.

Though, I mean, if it failed this fast then it is crap. A power button should last a ton of time unless you reeeeally beat on it multiple times each day.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power button, fan spins 1 sec, shut down bonanza2000 Troubleshooting 14 December 10, 2011 10:43 AM
Power Button Doesn't Work, but Power Button on Motherboard Does! Stock Troubleshooting 4 June 25, 2010 07:53 AM
computer without a case power button matsta31 CPU's and Motherboards 22 February 20, 2010 01:19 PM
Asus P6T power up with button on case Tiger CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 23, 2009 08:17 AM
power/reset button and cable magictorch Cases 2 November 28, 2007 12:09 PM