Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 08:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default Internal HDD showing up as external drives

Hi all. I'm hoping someone could help me with this issue. I just finished putting together my computer, installed Windows 7 Pro 64 bits. However, both of my hard drives (one SSD, one regular HDD) are showing up as external drives (plug-and-play). If I click the "Safely Remove Hardware" icon, I could actually "eject" both of my hard drives. I've searched on Google for clues, but it wasn't helpful. If anyone has any idea on how to fix this, it will be greatly appreciated (I am using Gigabyte-UD5-B3 Mobo).

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 08:10 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,141

My System Specs

Default

Where boath hooked up when you installed windows ?

When you install windows it is best to have only one hooked up.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 08:20 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Update drivers and bios. And if that doesn't work, roll them back. It happened with me too (and I only had one drive hooked up).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 08:58 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,556

My System Specs

Default

That's a feature of ACHI which allows hotswapping, it's normal don't worry about it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2011, 11:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

@ZZLEE: I did what you mentioned. I hooked up my SSD drive as the boot drive and then I connected my storage hard drive after Windows installation.

@Kommie986: Drivers and BIOS are all updated. If I wanted to roll back, should I just do it for the driver of the storage device and leave the BIOS alone?

@supaflyx3: If it doesn't cause any trouble later, I guess I can live with it. I was just a bit surprised since on my laptop, which also uses Windows 7 and ACHI, doesn't show my internal hard drive as an "external" drive.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 09:08 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

It really depends on the chipset more than anything. AHCI as supafly said allows drives to be hot swapped out of your system without shutting down your system. The only drive you can't do this with is your boot drive.

Its fine as stated and normal so don't worry.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 03:40 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Well, what happened with me (though keep in mind I'm still using 780i board) was that I let Windows update my drivers, and it showed the same stuff that you are mentioning. I didn't have that happen with old drivers, so I checked the NVIDIA websites, and there were newer drivers (than the ones Windows had got for me). I got those and the thing went away. I found it rather concerning as I was afraid in the process of trying to safely remove a memory stick, I would remove my one and only drive. But I suppose you should keep the bios and roll back drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2011, 10:07 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kommie986 View Post
Well, what happened with me (though keep in mind I'm still using 780i board) was that I let Windows update my drivers, and it showed the same stuff that you are mentioning. I didn't have that happen with old drivers, so I checked the NVIDIA websites, and there were newer drivers (than the ones Windows had got for me). I got those and the thing went away. I found it rather concerning as I was afraid in the process of trying to safely remove a memory stick, I would remove my one and only drive. But I suppose you should keep the bios and roll back drivers.
Your one and only drive would be the Windows boot drive which you CANNOT remove through this method.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 02:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

You usually shouldn't be able to eject the drive that your OS resides on. Otherwise all is normal.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2011, 09:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks all for your input. I will just leave it as it is.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD issue again, only showing system recovery cruisx Storage 4 July 19, 2011 11:33 PM
1TB HDD showing up as only 196GB? Airw4ves Storage 2 September 16, 2010 10:14 AM
External vs Internal Luckk Storage 0 November 9, 2009 05:28 PM
Help with internal HDD w/ encolsure Dubravac Storage 8 March 17, 2009 07:12 PM
Tagan Icy Box IB-390 Internal/External Enclosure Review Comment Thread AkG Storage 0 July 7, 2008 11:39 AM