Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 27, 2011, 06:25 PM
Rookie

Default Damaged my GTX 480s PCB :(

Today I was installing a Gelid Icy Vision HSF for my Evga GTX 480 and while I was unscrewing the heatsink I accidentally scratched the PCB a little (kinda deep). I didn't hit anything special but now when I boot up my PC I get a ton of artifacts (from BIOS and onward).

Here's a picture of where I damaged it:

Is there anything I can do? Is there any way I can fix it, I don't support Evga will honor the warranty?

Last edited by Featherawr; June 28, 2011 at 11:31 AM.
Old June 27, 2011, 06:31 PM
Banned
F@H

see if you can complete the trace.

or

if youre a bastuge lol and shut the frog up and send it in and you feel bad about it for the rest of your
life and i highly recommend against it? who knows :)
Old June 27, 2011, 06:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

I'm not a pro by any means on these things, but I'm pretty sure artifacting is more a product of heat than a damaged PCB. I'd imagine if the PCB was critically damaged, it would fail to boot. Are you sure the heatsink is installed correctly with an appropriate amount of thermal compound (not too little OR too much) and there's good contact?
Old June 27, 2011, 06:54 PM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
I'm not a pro by any means on these things, but I'm pretty sure artifacting is more a product of heat than a damaged PCB. I'd imagine if the PCB was critically damaged, it would fail to boot. Are you sure the heatsink is installed correctly with an appropriate amount of thermal compound (not too little OR too much) and there's good contact?
This. But at the same time depending on the pcb and layers he MAY have damaged a trace in the pcb.
Old June 27, 2011, 07:05 PM
Rookie