Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 3, 2011, 08:19 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Strange Question

This may be a peculiar question but is anyone familiar with Ford Rotunda IDS software? I am currently a Systems administrator for a few local Ford Dealerships and the Technicians use Netbooks with Proprietary Ford Rotunda "VCM" modules that hook up to the cars to run diagnostics.

These modules connect to the netbook via laptop and the other end connects to the data port of the car (generally located underneath the steering wheel). I have the IDS software installed on the netbook and updated as much as I could, but for some reason I can't get the netbook to recognize the device.

The other netbooks in the shop run Windows XP and are fully functional (Acer Aspire one), while this is a newer Aspire one running Windows 7 Starter. Consulting Ford directly is ruled out since we've opted for this netbook method. Ford only supports you if you rent their Panasonic Toughbooks that do literally the same thing (without all the bells and whistles like touchscreen panels etc etc).

Its a long shot, but I'm just seeing if anyone has any insight into this.

Thanks
Old June 3, 2011, 08:53 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

tried more than one car ?

using the same cable on the new laptop as on the old one ?

little confused here

"These modules connect to the netbook via laptop..."

so you use two computers ?
or you meant via cable ?

are you using the com port connection ?
Old June 3, 2011, 03:19 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

what i get here is you are trying to bypass all the proprietary bs of ford for the ODBII diagnostic tool.
you are probably running into the need for the proper codes from ford to make the software work.