Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2011, 12:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default Problems getting system to post

Hello
I finished putting together the parts for my system earlier today, but unfortunately when I tried to get the system to preform the first post; The motherboard lights up, so I press the start button and the fans all twitch and the stock intel cooler turns blue for a second then stop moving/led goes off.

My Specs:
i7 970
Rampage III black
Corsair 3x4gb 200MHZ RAM
HD Radeon 6990
Corsair AX 1200 PSU
Vertex 2 120gb SSD
1tb caviar black

(i have a corsair h70 cooler, but I am using stock cooler for now)

The things that I have tried to get it working are:

Using the small diagnostic speaker that comes with the Motherboard - Nothing happened
Changing Thermal paste and tightening the CPU cooler and checking the CPU socket and CPU - Nawt
Checking the connectors on the Graphics card and RAM - Nothing
Switching up the order of the RAM- Nothing

A small thing to add is that the case fans connected directly to the PSU are not ramping up when the PSU has power going to it. So this has lead me to believe that the Power supply is buggered, but I am far far far from an expert so I would really appreciate it if someone has some insight into my problem.

Thanks,
Kramen
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2011, 12:16 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

First, try to check all connectors to the motherboard. Use only 1 RAM. If that didn't help, try assembling outside your case to see if nothing is shorting in the case.

Another thing to check is your CPU socket for bent pin/s.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2011, 12:27 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hmm...try another psu?

one stick of ram in different slots at a time?

if cpu is well seated....and nothing shorts out?

as in put it together on the mobo box and try again?

and welcome around!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2011, 12:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

:D thanks, just got the mobo out of the case and am starting to re assemble :D update inc
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2011, 12:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Ok, so to get the stuff to run i need to press down on the 24 pin connector, and the card and the chip cooler all start up. Now it isnt going ito bios:P
Anyone know a reason other than video card?

Last edited by Kramen; May 24, 2011 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2011, 01:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Ok on my Motherboard i am getting a F.F. message thats means that there are AMI codes apparently coming... there arnt
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2011, 04:42 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

check cmos jumper is in the norm position (1-2) or has a jumper on it.

also check pci-e lanes are termed to slot using

other is cpu power from PSU, EPS 4 0r 8 wire NOTE Yellow wire is on the locking side of plug
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2011, 02:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Ok from my Motherboard i am getting a repeat of these three signals from the LEDS ; 01 02 EA 68
01 power on
02 AP initialization b4 microcode
EA S3 resume boot script error
68 PCI host bride initialization
One stick of RAM atm
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2011, 03:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

I got it working:D

Thanks all for your help.

Yea the error codes were coming up because one of my ram wasn't seating properly.

DOH!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2011, 07:40 AM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

We are glad you got it working, the joy of success. This is a common mistake that even a veteran builder can make.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The official GPU client help thread: Post your problems here! Zero82z HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 May 10, 2010 09:59 AM
problems with system help ryman546 Troubleshooting 8 March 27, 2010 04:15 PM
HELP with haf 932 post-paint problems t_mo_t Cases 2 October 21, 2009 02:26 PM
MSI X58m Post problems BobLoblaw Troubleshooting 11 August 30, 2009 06:02 PM
Problems with my system yycraven Troubleshooting 18 June 4, 2008 09:48 AM