Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 03:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default BSOD + BIOS Settings Reset

I popped in Grand Theft Auto IV and the Windows 7 Aero thing was trying to change it to the performance mode, and it did that about 10 times until my screens flickered and I got a BSOD. Then I shut the computer off, and it said "ASUS Failed Overclock" when I turned it back on. I quickly shut it off, then I checked the BIOS to find that EVERYTHING was reset. My voltages were off, and so were things like my boot priority. What the hell just happened? I got a message when I rebooted about the Blue screen, but I sent the problem to microsoft.. How do I bring it back up to show you guys? IDK what the hell is wrong with my computer but it's frozen 3 times this weekend and Its really worrying me. I used to play like 10 hours of games every day last summer for almost 3 months straight, and I only started getting this annoying freezing issue after getting my 2nd video card and another set of 4GB of ram (I have 8GB total). Please help! Thanks!!! Also obviously Im on the computer right now.. its fine but Im scared :S
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 04:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

UPDATE: Now I cant play stupid GTA IV, it just crashes my computer every time -_- Anyways, not that it really matters, I dont play it much but it's my video card drivers that are acting up with the game because it used to work perfectly.. As for the bios thing, Its because I cut power when it was loading up ahahah LOL
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 06:26 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,097

My System Specs

Default

GTA is buggy as H . yep on power shut down durring BIOS OD.

The nuber off BIOS OD ive had ion mine is like in the thousands. LOL

there should be a place in bios to save your settings.

Whats your system spec and BIOS temPlate ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 07:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

Alright, well I couldnt really make out what you typed there no offense, but I just re-keyed in all of my settings. It is in fact GTA IV in fullscreen making my drivers malfunction and crashing my whole computer... I can run the game in windowed mode though thankfully :) But yeah they need to fix that BS.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 09:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

well you need to figure out if its any of the new parts you got


was the game fine BEFORE you got the new parts ?
(did you have the game before that ? )

do other games make the computer crash ?
if yes, then something is wrong parts wise and can be the new parts you just picked up

i would first pull the memory out that you added and see if the game
works or not.

also you said 2nd video card ? so you have sli or crossfire now ?
it would be the next thing to pull out is the second card
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2011, 01:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

UPDATE: I rolled back my drivers, and everything works now. I have 2 5770s in Crossfire lol.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2011, 02:10 PM
Gamblez's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 27

My System Specs

Default

I got a BSOD crash dump in windows 7 a lot when playing games just a couple months ago, it would list different problems each time. After I did some searching in turned out to be faulty drivers. If it just started happening recently you could try a system restore.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to overclock without the settings in the bios? andynerd Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 June 2, 2009 07:30 PM
Memory settings in bios Jonwall CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 6, 2009 02:32 PM
Please expert help fo bios settings evzonas RAM 2 August 6, 2008 04:01 PM
780i Bios settings help please Quetz Troubleshooting 17 April 27, 2008 01:23 PM
Voltage settings in Maximus Formula bios? sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 13, 2008 10:39 AM