Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 04:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default 3rd Hard drive issues

OK I am clearly missing something. I have a SSD which has the operating system on it, and I have a 1TB hard drive for the data. I added a third drive 500 GB and I must have done something wrong. The BIOS sees the 3rd drive (and looks and lists them in the correct order) and when I go to device manager in Win 7 it shows all 3 drives as functioning normally but when I go to "my computer" in Win 7, I just see the first 2 hard drives (c: and d:) and of course the Blu-ray and DVD drives (e: and f:). What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 04:45 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

maybe initialise,partition and format it? :)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 05:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

Yep it sounds like the hard disk is blank - unlike external drives, internal drives don't come pre-formatted.
Add a partition onto it with "Disk Management". It should ask you to "initialize" the disk the second the window opens, and then you can add a partition to it.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 05:56 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

Yeah but I can't get to it. there is no drive letter assigned to it to right click and format. How to I get to it to format it? The computer knows it is there in picture 1 but I can't find a way to format it. Picture 2 shows the drives windows sees and I can right click and format those (not that I would want to but ya know what I am saying I can get to that command)
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 06:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

start, in the field search thingie write 'computer management'

and youll get there :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 06:55 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,255
Default

To see the drive you want initialized you will need to go into "Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Storage>Disk Management". When its loaded...
THEN
In Disk Management, right-click the disk you want to initialize, and then click Initialize Disk. In the Initialize Disk dialog box, select the disk(s) to initialize. You can select whether to use the master boot record (MBR) or GUID partition table (GPT) partition style.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 07:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

Here's some more detailed instructions:

In tutorial form: How to Install and Initialize an Unformatted Hard Drive in Windows Vista and Windows 7
In video form: How to format a hard drive on your Windows Vista or Windows 7 PC (very interesting size of hard disk in that video - virtual machine perhaps?)
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 07:08 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hey ak, didnt you have an article on gpt vs mbr? ;)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 07:25 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,255
Default

Oh prolly got a link for it kicking around here somewhere dan....but the rule of thumb is: under 2tb use mbr...over 2tb use GPT. :P
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 07:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

cool. but i hear for gpt you got to watch out for some stuffs? settings...:)

still use mbr on me 2tb's greens. for now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA to USB issues (2.5 drive and on Win7) mtl514 Troubleshooting 0 January 22, 2011 04:11 PM
2 hard drive failures in one year...and a 3rd coming yanhchan Storage 16 October 13, 2010 04:08 PM
Hard drive and video card issues Zodgrod Troubleshooting 11 October 6, 2010 06:22 AM
How do I set my second hard drive as a "data drive"? lsquare Storage 11 March 19, 2010 09:11 PM
Hard Drive/Video Card Issues? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 3 March 6, 2010 08:50 AM