Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2011, 06:01 PM
Sleal's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default New build...boot drive woes

I'm helping a friend put together a dirt-nasty SB build but the combination of him being in Alberta, my skype taking a crap, and me never having seen a p67 bios makes it hard to figure it out.

Ok so...his old machine had a WD HDD that has about 120 gigs of pics and stuff that he'd like to keep. That drive was his boot drive and has Xp on it.

With his new build, he has a 60 gig Vertex 1 with win7 on it.

With the SSD plugged in port 1 and the HDD in port 2, with no bios changes made, it tries to boot XP. If you remove the HDD is boots off the SSD. If we set the priority to his SSD first, then his HDD second, it starts to load windows up until the screen that says Windows and has the flying orbs, then suddenly restarts.

Any suggestions?

__________________
Intel i5 760 | EVGA P55 SLI | G.Skill Ripjaws PC2-16000 2X2GB | XFX HD R7970 Black Edition
Corsair HX1000 | Intel X25-V SSD | Corsair 600D | Custom Watercooled | W7 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2011, 06:55 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

change port, put cd first,usb second,ssd,hdd.or usb between them
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2011, 10:32 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,944
Default

configure 60gb Vertex as boot OS. then install wdc 120, if has a RW combo drive back up pics to cd/dvd burner then burn wanted files.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2011, 04:41 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

Attach the old 120GB drive to an external enclosure and run it like an external HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2011, 09:17 AM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

Or have the HDD unplugged, boot into W7 via the SSD, then plug the HDD in -- it should configure automatically as new hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2011, 09:28 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Did the Vertex get Windows installed onto it with the new build or was it from the old build?

Windows restarting is generally because of a BSoD. If you hit F8 you can start Windows without the system rebooting on error.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2011, 04:05 PM
Sleal's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 54

My System Specs

Default

It seems like it's BSoD'ing on restart. The SSD has W7 installed on it. We'll try to force boot it with f8 though to see what happens
__________________
Intel i5 760 | EVGA P55 SLI | G.Skill Ripjaws PC2-16000 2X2GB | XFX HD R7970 Black Edition
Corsair HX1000 | Intel X25-V SSD | Corsair 600D | Custom Watercooled | W7 64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA P55 + USB boot drive martin_metal_88 Troubleshooting 7 December 7, 2009 07:20 PM
SSD as boot drive phil3_66666 Storage 16 July 23, 2009 10:18 AM
New build woes Sleal Troubleshooting 11 June 28, 2009 04:25 PM
anybody using a Vertex as boot drive? dadzilla Storage 5 June 20, 2009 02:23 PM
HD strickly as a boot drive Nodscene Storage 6 March 28, 2008 06:04 AM