Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 08:56 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 818

My System Specs

Default Laptop won't boot into Windows 7

My mother-in-law got one of those freebie laptops when she signed on with Telus.

The other day she opened Internet Explorer & the fonts were all huge then the laptop froze. (That's all the info I could obtain about what happened)
Upon rebooting it now hangs at the "loading windows" screen.

I did the quick "check computer for startup errors" prompt that came up when it failed to boot up, but after an hour of waiting for it to check the disk for errors I gave up and went to bed.
When I got up this morning it had obviously finished it's checks and had tried booting into windows again, with the same result: hangs at the "loading windows" screen.

It's running windows 7, but other than that I haven't really had any time to look at other specs.

Anyone have any quick & dirty ideas on what the issue could be?
Of course, it's one of those machines where the OS is pre-installed & she didn't get a physical disc to repair the windows install.

Any ideas greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 09:15 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,757

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a hard drive on it's last legs to me.

Speaking of which, this computer at work just shut down while typing that the first time. Hard drive is clicking and acting weird now.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 09:22 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,617
Default

Can you boot into Safe Mode? If so, try doing a System Restore to a point prior to the error first appearing. Alternately, most new computers don't necessarily need to come with a backup disk since there is a partition on the HDD which is used as a recovery tool to restore the Windows install into a factory-new state.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 09:24 AM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

i know with my acer laptop you have to hold down a certain one of the F keys and you get access to the stored recover partition to set back to factory defaults
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 09:36 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 818

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the answers all.
It's less than a month old so I hope it's not the hard drive already!

Not sure which button I have to hit during boot-up to get to the option to boot into safe mode, but I'll play around with it tonight when I get home & try booting into safe mode.
Looking at the Telus website it's an HP G62 laptop, so some quick google-fu tells me it's F8.

I'll give that a go tonight & see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 10:27 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

also download the Download Windows 7 System Recovery Discs — The NeoSmart Files
windows 7 repair disk once you get this up and running check for virus's trojans because there are some badies out there that you can get by just going to a website and not having your java and all other internet security updated. this happened to me last year which is why now I installed WOT ( web of trust) which will popup a warning of websites with bad reps
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 10:36 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 110

My System Specs

Default

HP laptop usually have a bios Hard disk diagnostic. Go into the bios and run a full diagnostic. It will tell you if the drive is faulty.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 10:49 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,617
Default

For Safe Mode continually press F8 when the system boots. Then select Safe Mode.

I say continually since I have seen systems where you need to press F8 at the BIOS splash screen while others need it pressed between the BIOS screen and Windows boot.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 03:31 PM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

what me and sky were saying is there is probably a hard drive partition that basicly has a win 7 install disk stored on it.
some google foo found this
https://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...WithoutWindows

hitting f 11 on startup will get you to the hp recovery
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 04:27 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 818

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coleo View Post
what me and sky were saying is there is probably a hard drive partition that basicly has a win 7 install disk stored on it.
some google foo found this
https://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...WithoutWindows

hitting f 11 on startup will get you to the hp recovery
Just got home & tried a couple of things.

1. Safe mode start-up: Hangs at atipcie.sys (I think that was the driver - ati video deiver anyway)
2. F11 on startup and restoring system to an earlier date: Didn't make any difference - still hung at loading screen
3. Just tried resetting to original factory settings from that restore option - will see if that works.

In the mean time I'm downloading that recovery disc so if all else fails I'll use that.
More google-fu shows that lots of people have had this same issue and some have just renamed or deleted that video driver then redownloaded it once they can get into windows. That'll probably be my next move
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new build won't boot up! help. dbear Troubleshooting 6 July 10, 2010 04:59 PM
Beeping - Won't boot Jake_HT Troubleshooting 3 April 7, 2010 10:08 AM
Computer won't boot andynerd Troubleshooting 19 October 10, 2009 09:51 PM
Comp won't Boot up v0maru Troubleshooting 2 December 23, 2008 10:23 PM
won't boot up Jhayman Troubleshooting 0 December 6, 2007 10:41 AM