Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 07:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
Default Memory and Windows Experience Index

I have Gskill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 4Gb (2X2) memory on an Asus p8h67-m LE motherboard. When I used the Windows Experience Index tool, it gave my memory a rating of 5.9. I know that the index doesn't mean much, but I suspect maybe there is something wrong with my memory configuration. I know that this mobo only supports up to 1333 memory, but even at that the score should be higher than 5.9.

Help please?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 08:05 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

That may be about right. My 6gb ddr3 @ 1600 scores a 7.8.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 08:20 AM
Deviant's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UWO :D or Toronto
Posts: 355

My System Specs

Default

^
My 8GB DDR3 1333 8-8-8 on a P8P87 Pro gets me a 7.9. A 5.9 doesn't seem right to me....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 08:35 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Default

Seems like it's more about amount of ram than speed of ram maybe?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 08:45 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

4 GB ain't nuff brah. You want more point$ you gotta invests the doobie dollahs!

5.9 is max for dat size ram brah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 10:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Was anything using the RAM while you were doing the test, like antivirus / folding / integrated graphics? (I can't call it a benchmark ) Also, I assume this is Windows 7? Vista capped its numbers at 5.9, so if you upgraded from Vista to 7 there may have been some strange registry thing left over.
The other thing I can think of is that your CPU may have went into low power mode right as it was testing the memory, and the excuse for a benchmark picked that up.

Just get CPU-Z and verify the RAM is working at the proper speed in the "Memory" tab. If your RAM is working properly, don't bother. (OT: can you still hack the registry to change those values?) Test with something that means a little more, like Cinebench, 3DMark, Folding@Home frame times, etc etc...
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]

Last edited by frontier204; April 10, 2011 at 10:20 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 10:41 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,892

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
4 GB ain't nuff brah. You want more point$ you gotta invests the doobie dollahs!

5.9 is max for dat size ram brah
From my experience, I'd have to agree. Anything 4GB = 5.9. Anything over 6GB should give you 7.8 or 7.9.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 12:43 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
From my experience, I'd have to agree. Anything 4GB = 5.9. Anything over 6GB should give you 7.8 or 7.9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
4 GB ain't nuff brah. You want more point$ you gotta invests the doobie dollahs!

5.9 is max for dat size ram brah

sorry , but it's not true , here a pics of one of my rigs showing 7,5 for the ram with 4 gb


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 01:39 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botat29 View Post
sorry , but it's not true , here a pics of one of my rigs showing 7,5 for the ram with 4 gb


I'd have to agree, here's my 7.8 with 4Gb ram
Attached Images
 
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 01:56 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

What are the speeds and timings of the RAM with those scores?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Index score kazman Storage 3 March 26, 2011 05:19 PM
Comp wont Windows Exp. Index Sleal Troubleshooting 1 February 25, 2011 06:12 PM
-Bigadv memory use in windows client martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 July 22, 2010 08:52 AM
Article: Most Windows 7 PCs max out memory [InfoWorld] LaughingCrow Reviews & Articles from the Web 56 February 22, 2010 01:37 PM
Windows Experence Index score?? Crownregent Storage 9 April 7, 2009 12:52 PM