Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 06:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default

No I never got to put in the 5830 yet guys forgot to mention because I didn't have a proper power supply. So should I get a power supply and try the 5830 before ditching the motherboard?

Btw I would never buy gateway or acer personally they're total shit but my parents bought it for me so I can't complain.

Last edited by NOIZE; April 9, 2011 at 06:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 06:57 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Encruncher View Post
Crapppy OEM systems
your 5830 is seen as as 4600
try updating bios from Gateway
best thing keep CPU and dump the mobo
problem the mobo bios hold M$ product/activation code
If you buy a mobo you need to buy a copy of Winblows, get an OEM copy,not reatail
Moral of the story OEM systems suck because they PITA to upgrade

just call M$ and say replaced MB (its the cpu its licensed to)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 07:03 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

mite even be your moniter has issues , try another moniter to rule out video card
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 07:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Well considering my PC won't even boot I highly doubt the monitor is to blame. But I did try it on 2 of my hdtvs with the same problem.

Also I tested the RAM and I still get the beep.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 07:38 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOIZE View Post
Well considering my PC won't even boot I highly doubt the monitor is to blame. But I did try it on 2 of my hdtvs with the same problem.

Also I tested the RAM and I still get the beep.
remove power cord and push start button

then re-set cmos by jumper or remove battery 10mins

also this MB have onboard video? 1 long 2 short beeps means display adapter problem

whats is the service tag# of your system named?

or the BRAND an MODEL of motherboard

note DXdiag is for software

this post is useless with out HARDWARE info

Last edited by KaptCrunch; April 9, 2011 at 07:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 07:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Nope no onboard video just the card (radeon hd 4650).
Where would I find a service tag #? The motherboard is made by gateway or so belarc advisor told me. it was a gateway fmp35 or something close to that I think but I can't say for sure because I can't use belarc to check now and I don't see anything on the motherboard.

Also thanks for the help guys I appreciate it:)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 08:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Removed the battery like you said but no change.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2011, 02:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
whats is the service tag# of your system named?

or the BRAND an MODEL of motherboard
Gateway Support - Specifications
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 11:48 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
DX4830 Desktop Series
base model
Intel® Core™ i7 processor (up to 1333 MHz FSB)
Intel® Core™ i5 processor (up to 1333 MHz FSB)

2 MB listed 1366 1156 not the exact ID of MB
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2011, 11:51 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOIZE View Post
Nope no onboard video just the card (radeon hd 4650).
Where would I find a service tag #? The motherboard is made by gateway or so belarc advisor told me. it was a gateway fmp35 or something close to that I think but I can't say for sure because I can't use belarc to check now and I don't see anything on the motherboard.

Also thanks for the help guys I appreciate it:)
service tag on case or inside on side panel or frame

as it stands still no post only beeping ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
could this be a game problem or a video driver problem? Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 December 17, 2010 06:01 AM
Hardware problem or HAL problem? andynerd Troubleshooting 1 March 7, 2009 08:03 PM
Help Identifying possible hardware problem. thetallone Troubleshooting 4 December 13, 2008 04:45 PM
Diagnosing dying video card? RainMaker Troubleshooting 5 March 12, 2008 10:23 AM