Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 26, 2011, 04:54 AM
Rookie
F@H

Default First post, and I'm here to moan and cry (solved)

About two months ago I confidently announced to a couple of friends that I wanted a HTPC but that PC gaming just wasn't worth the hassle and basically garaunteed that I would have to build a PC to try it. I've never built before so it was a lot of reseach, in the end this is my configuration.

Antec 1200 case
Athlon II 455 (proven unlocker)
Cooler master hyper 212
Asus M4N75TD
8 gig of GSkill ram (1333MHz)
Gigabyte 900Mhz 560 Ti
Caviar black 1Tb for the OS
Caviar Green 2Tb for storage

You can see that my little HTPC build grew on me.

I finally got my processor today, first thing I bought last thing to get here, figures eh? I lovingly cleaned the heatsink and put it into the board that I has been in the case waiting for weeks already. I carefully applied heat compound to the cooler and installed that as well, and that was it, it was ready to go.

I moved it over to the tv and hooked it up and I'll be damned if it didn't fire up and post first shot. I've been studying how to do this stuff since before I even started looking for parts so I knew that I had to go into the bios and set up a raid configuration so that all six sata ports would register, and the raid drivers would load during windows install in case I want to play with that later, even if the raid was JBOD.

I had windows 64 on an external drive ready for install so it was time to take that plunge. I've been reading about short stroking too and so just for the hell of it I partitioned the caviar black into two 100G sections and the balance, 100G for windows and games, and 100G just in case I get brave and want to try linux or something.

Are you getting bored yet? stick with me, you'll love the funny/not-funny finish.