Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 06:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 43
Question Asus P8P67 pro ATX power question.

Question, need help please. I am building right now, I got the Asus P8P67 PRo, I am using the Corsair TX 850 V2. There is the big ATX power connector to the right side of the MOBO, which I got plugged in, but there is also one at the top left of the MOBO. It's 8pin, I have a 8 pin from the PSU, but half of it is a different shape then the MOBO, the squares dont match.

So can I use just half the plug? Use 4 pins.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 06:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

You either got it backwards or you got an incorrectly wired PSU. It's not a huge deal if you only plug in a 4 pin, but it's not recommended if you're overclocking.

Can you post a picture?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 06:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

usually you combine those two but i guess one 4 pin should be ok with a cpu that wont pull truck loads
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 06:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 43
Default

It still fits in fine, my only question is this.

My 8-pin splits, 1 half is perfect, it has 2 squares and 2 squares with the corners cut off.
the other side just has 4 squares with the corners cut off.

Now the Mobo, both 4 have 2 squares and 2 cut squares.

Both my 4 still fit, but the shape is just a little different?
Should I just plug in both?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 07:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

There shouldn't be any problems as it's just "missing" corners that hold it firmly in place. As long as it doesn't wiggle out easily, I'd just use it. An RMA for 2 measly pins just isn't worth it, since the other 2 pins should be holding them in place.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 08:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 399

My System Specs

Default

It is normal for a 8 pin connector to be a 4+4 pin to accommodate motherboards that have only 4 pin power. If it fits properly I don't see what is the problem as a cut square power pin should fit in a perfect square slot but not the other way around.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 08:00 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaspap View Post
It still fits in fine, my only question is this.

My 8-pin splits, 1 half is perfect, it has 2 squares and 2 squares with the corners cut off.
the other side just has 4 squares with the corners cut off.

Now the Mobo, both 4 have 2 squares and 2 cut squares.

Both my 4 still fit, but the shape is just a little different?
Should I just plug in both?

DON'T MIX PCI-E WITH MB POWER FOR THOSE CONNECTS ARE REVERSED POLARITYS

Damage wiil happen


what version of bios ? current is 1502
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; March 22, 2011 at 08:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 06:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 43
Default

So should I just use 1 4 pin, I have both in, and everything seems to be working fine. I know for sure it is not the PCI-E plugs.

Also, for anyone who has this mobo, I have another question.

1- When you first turn on your computer, do you get a red light by the cpu, then the ram, then the videocrad, just for a second, but they go in that order. Then they go off, and you just have that steady green below?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 06:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaspap View Post
So should I just use 1 4 pin, I have both in, and everything seems to be working fine. I know for sure it is not the PCI-E plugs.

Also, for anyone who has this mobo, I have another question.

1- When you first turn on your computer, do you get a red light by the cpu, then the ram, then the videocrad, just for a second, but they go in that order. Then they go off, and you just have that steady green below?
Every motherboard is different, but it sounds like yours is just giving you LED feedback of successful POST on your CPU/RAM/GPU.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 08:52 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaspap View Post
So should I just use 1 4 pin, I have both in, and everything seems to be working fine. I know for sure it is not the PCI-E plugs.

Also, for anyone who has this mobo, I have another question.

1- When you first turn on your computer, do you get a red light by the cpu, then the ram, then the videocrad, just for a second, but they go in that order. Then they go off, and you just have that steady green below?
cool its working , the second EPS12V plug usally for dual cpu MB/sli/cross-over

for reading your asus manual.pdf can answer your questions

lower green means MB is powerd
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS P8P67 PRO Sandy Bridge Motherboard Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 28 March 25, 2011 03:21 PM
ASUS P8P67 Pro Phill CPU's and Motherboards 7 March 13, 2011 01:28 PM
2500K + P8P67 Pro Overclocking Realityshift Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 January 24, 2011 10:20 AM
ASUS P5K PRO Intel P35 Green ATX Motherboard Hardware Canucks Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 25, 2008 07:40 AM