Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 21, 2008, 06:23 AM
Rookie

Exclamation Big Problems

Hi there! I'm new to this board, and have stumbled upon it in my search for a solution.

I'm having problems. First off, I'll give my specs:

Asus P5KC (Socket 775, P35 Chipset)
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 (G0 revision)
2 x Kingston 334mhz DDR2 ram
EVGA GeForce 8600 GT (PCI-E)
LG 20X DVD-RW (SATA)
Seagate 80 gig & 320 gig (both IDE)
400w psu

This is my first build. Everything was working fine until I tried installing Supreme Commander. During install it would hang indefinately, or install VERY slowly (3+hrs for 50%). A few attempts even resulted in a BSOD!

I gave up on SupCom, and tried installing Age Of Empires III, but it was the same result.

At first I thought it was a problem with the CD drive, but swapping drives proved futile (using both SATA as well as IDE). I tried it on 3 seperate, fresh installs of XP, but to no avail.

I've checked my temps, and there is nothing out of the ordinary going on.

Obviously, I've updated all my drivers & BIOS to the latest revisions from the Asus site, and it still hasn't fixed my problem.

Any suggestions?
Old January 21, 2008, 09:00 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default just a quick one

What sort of 400w PSU is that? If its a cheapo one your system is very likely underpowered.

Also the quad needs an 8 pin MB connector rather than a 4 pin.

Finally do you have the correct volts going through the memory.

Somewhere to start anyway.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Old January 21, 2008, 09:34 AM
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H

My System Specs

Basically is your system stable. Run a few tests to find out: SuperPi, Memtest, latest Prime. And do check your CPU temps while testing. Don't let the Quad go higher than 65C.
Old January 21, 2008, 01:38 PM
Rookie