Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2008, 11:00 PM
JShupka's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Peterborough Ont.
Posts: 27
Unhappy BIOS Chip burning

Does anybody konow of a good CANADIAN based service that can burn BIOS chips. My BIOS got messed up by a bad flash and I really don't want to wait a month for a new chip shipped from the US.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 12:09 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

what motherboard? perhaps one of us up here would be willing to hot-flash it for you. also, where are you located?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 01:25 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,749
Default

Ou, hotflashing a BIOS, that's always good fun. Always gets me nervous
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 02:04 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

My friend cooked a motherboard hot-flashing it, so I don't like recommending doing it (I can't remember which board it was, this was a few years ago now).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 09:32 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JShupka View Post
Does anybody konow of a good CANADIAN based service that can burn BIOS chips. My BIOS got messed up by a bad flash and I really don't want to wait a month for a new chip shipped from the US.
Try my blind bios flashing technique : http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...html#post26276
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 11:51 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

What board?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 01:03 PM
JShupka's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Peterborough Ont.
Posts: 27
Default

Yeah, I know Elan Games...They moved to a tiny little location downtown. Great staff tho. I can't stand the software Asus includes for BIOS flashing. This is the second time I have had a flash go bad on one of their boards. And their tech staff suck. It's depressing because I haven't even had the chance to play a single game on the new 8800 GT. Oh well, at least I know once this is fixed all is well. Maybe next time I will go with somebody else, like EVGA. I was thinking of picking up their 780i board anyways. Thanks for the help guys. I gotta go pick up a floppy drive (can't believe I don't have one lying around) and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 01:17 PM
JShupka's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Peterborough Ont.
Posts: 27
Default

Asus P5N32 SLI Premium nForce 590 Chipset Rev. 1.02G
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 01:21 PM
JShupka's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Peterborough Ont.
Posts: 27
Default

Also, I am located in Peterborough Ont. I am going to try that floppy disk thing tonight. Does it have to bet the exact same BIOS flash file (ie. .BIN) on the floppy when I do it or can I go ahead and load the pdate that I was doing in the first place?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 01:37 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

with most newer Asus boards there is a BIOS recovery option i believe. never had to try it but go with what Synth recommended and if that doesn't work, download the manual from the Asus site and see what it says about recovering a BIOS.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best CD/MP3 Disc Burning Program TwystedMonkey Off Topic 4 March 14, 2008 06:50 PM
Good little chip - E4500 zlojack Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 March 9, 2008 08:04 AM
BIOS Chip removal tool? mattydies CPU's and Motherboards 10 February 15, 2008 01:06 PM
New Bios chip / Reflash ebdoradz Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 January 22, 2008 08:56 PM
Virtual Bios / Bios Copies Sting3r11 Off Topic 1 March 17, 2007 08:33 AM