Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 03:12 PM
Ging9's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Albert, Alberta
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default Does overclocking affect comp's ability to sleep?

Probably a dumb question, but ever since I used the Asus AI utility to overclock my CPU my computer's display and keyboard will no longer wake up after sleep...I have to reboot the system.
__________________
Asus P8P67 Deluxe, i5 2500K, MSI 560 GTX Ti, Corsair 600T, 4X2 GB Kingston 1600, Corsair H60, PC P&C 750.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 03:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,495

My System Specs

Default

It's possible your overclock is not stable. Have you done any stress testing? Having said that, you should be doing all of your permanent overclocking in the BIOS anyways. I'll wager that almost every individual who responds to this thread will suggest the same strategy.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 05:23 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

it shouldnt but if your overclock is not stable then it may not be running right outta sleep mode. From my experiance. My 2cents
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 05:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,568

My System Specs

Default

Reading your other thread, there are 2 known issues I know of that could be affecting you.

Windows 7 not liking sleep. Microsoft. Already mentioned in your other thread.

There is a known issue with sleep and PLL voltage override. I assume from one of your older posts and the mention of Asus AI that you upgraded to Sandy Bridge recently. Sandy Bridge boards don't always wake from sleep when PLL overrides are enabled. However, disabling it will hamper your ability to overclock.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2011, 09:23 AM
Ging9's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Albert, Alberta
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

One of the first things I did was move the little PLL switch on the motherboard to "enable". Maybe that's the problem. I'm going to switch everything back to default and see what happens.

If anyone else out there has the same setup as me (2500K on an Asus P8P67 Deluxe) I'd love to hear what setting you're using for optimum performance/stability.
__________________
Asus P8P67 Deluxe, i5 2500K, MSI 560 GTX Ti, Corsair 600T, 4X2 GB Kingston 1600, Corsair H60, PC P&C 750.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2011, 10:39 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,495

My System Specs

Default

How do OS overclocking utilities now differ with Sandy Bridge?
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2011, 01:55 PM
Brian@NCIX's Avatar
NCIX System Builder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Richmond
Posts: 66

My System Specs

Default

Your RAM corrupts during its long slumber :P

Try downclocking, you'll see that it should wake up no problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 03:43 PM
Ging9's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Albert, Alberta
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

It DOES affect sleep! (overclocking, I mean). Set my system back to optimized defaults and it sleeps without a problem now, and wakes up with a single press of power switch.

SOOOOO....million dollar question is, how do I get the best of both worlds? I want to OC my system a bit, but I also want to be able to put it to sleep whenever I want and not have to do a full shut down.
__________________
Asus P8P67 Deluxe, i5 2500K, MSI 560 GTX Ti, Corsair 600T, 4X2 GB Kingston 1600, Corsair H60, PC P&C 750.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 10:25 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,495

My System Specs

Default

Try overclocking in the BIOS?
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 11:42 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

ya it shouldn't effect it at all unless it just the board be a little bitchy. i have had many pc i built for clients that were oc'd and they worked fine in and out of sleep mode. maybe its the software causing a delay between the settings when coming out of sleep mode and i am guessing here so give the bios a shot
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 6990's -- how will it affect pricing? Socrates_Johnston Video Cards 11 March 7, 2011 02:42 PM
How will the upcoming HST affect you? _dangtx_ Off Topic 65 May 19, 2010 07:41 PM
Lost my PM ability?? turtletrax Suggestions & Feedback 7 May 12, 2010 01:45 PM
How Does Gaming Affect Your Relationship(s)? zc1 Gaming 7 April 14, 2010 05:09 PM
how much vid cards affect 3dMark ragenrok Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 April 24, 2007 08:22 AM