Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 11:28 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
DistroWatch.com: Put the fun back into computing. Use Linux, BSD.

take your pick. i like mind,ubuntu,and the little one there
im confused..u want me to download a new OS?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 11:36 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

why,yes of course.

then if it still happens you move slots. teaches you how to troubleshoot something without opening up the machine.
say your old man tells you something like this? tell him to pop the live cd in and check again. this way you dont spend 4 days on the
phone with him for a stupid m$ thingie. trust me, i speak from experience.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 11:44 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

can i not reinstall windows 7?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 11:50 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

LiveCD is non-destructive way of testing. Just put it in your drive and reboot and it won't touch your hard drive.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 09:09 AM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

well, after formating my harddrive, installing new os, testing monitor on a diff computer, using multiple cables and testing computer on different monitors, im geussing it must be my video card, well this sucks cause i dont have a receipt and gigabyte states "Warranty Graphics Card: Please contact the location where the original order was placed." LOL
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 11:42 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,949
Default

how you paid it ? check debit ,CC records
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 04:52 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

cash :\, it sucks cause it says 3 year warranty...gigabyte should really honor their warranty lol
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 04:59 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you dont need a receipt with giga, get in touch with them,but what bugs me is the fact that your games are ok

drop it in another puter, if it does the same then yeah but its really weird
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 05:03 PM
bf1 bf1 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 116
Default

yeah it's just so weird..like i dont understand what's going on, and yeah my games are perfectly fine? it's just when im browing the internet or watching a video..i also noticed (when watching a video) if i click off the video like..the task bar.. then the pixels will disapear for like 10 seconds?? it just doesnt make sense to me, and yeah ill try and contact them, b4 i do ill drop it in other comp i suppose
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 05:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

cool. and you tried the live cd right? because if you go on youtube and theres no screwy pixels then the cards fine :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You-Tube Human "Pixels" Perform Live Animation sswilson Off Topic 14 June 29, 2009 08:02 PM
[WTB] LCD Monitor - Dead Pixels okay Perineum Buy/Sell & Trade 3 June 3, 2009 09:19 PM
Dead Pixels bobaban Display Units 15 October 26, 2007 02:40 PM
inches or pixels zaqu Display Units 13 July 6, 2007 10:03 AM