Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 03:16 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default Consistant bsod's with new W7 build.

howdy folks, been been for a couple of years (fyi satellite internet in Nigeria blows )

here's the problem. new build and i get repeated bsod's (usually when i'm surfing, and almost never when gaming), and the 3 messages i get are
- MEMORY_MANAGEMENT
-SERVICE-SYSYTEM_EXCEPTION
-PFN_LIST_CORRUPT

been going on for almost 2 months now and i'm totally at a loss.
memtest-ed ALL the ram, swapped slots, ran 1 stick, 2,3,&4 sticks it all comes back good or same issues.
ran cards in crossfire and singly, updated ATI drivers @ installed earlier releases, same results. (although, i do get some screen flicker occassionally)

now using all the same hardware with the 32-bit drivers everything runs perfect on XP Pro.
not a single hitch, or hiccup. perfection.
even swapping out the ram.
tells me the hardware is all good after running solid for a week or so.

go back to W7 64 and problems return. i really need some imput on this guys. the only other thing i haven't tried yet is to install a copy of XP pro 64-bit (thinking it's a driver issue) but i'll be damned if i can find a legit copy anywhere ....

AMD Phenom 1090T proc
Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
Asus 6870 GPU (x2)
OCZ 120Gb SSD
WD 150Gb Raptor
8 Gb G.Skill DDR3-2000

again guys, really need some help here. my hunch is it's a driver.

thnx
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 03:20 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 449

My System Specs

Default

Seems to me your right..however with your hardware there is allie of driver support 64 bit had matured from an os standpoint..have you since tried a windows 7 install perhaps you had a corrupted driver or file
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 03:34 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

i've done the re-install, re-format multiple times.
last count was install #8 on the OS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 04:22 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,847
Default

AMD 890FX Chipset not support w7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 04:32 PM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 449

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
AMD 890FX Chipset not support w7 64bit
seriously.....i cant see/ believe this

...no offence
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 05:04 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

not questioning you, but this is the first i've heard of this. never googled the chipset.
but i'm not the only one running this setup.. do you have a link or something i can checkout ?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 05:30 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

is all of your drivers installed from the Manufacturers site or are they installed from windows7 itself, personally the only time I use any OS drivers is on the first install then I always go to which ever site and update all of my Drivers and of course I check to see if I need a motherboard bios update.
as for the win7x64 not supporting That chipset I never heard that before
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 05:57 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

Shadow, all of my non-windows drivers are from either the install cd's, or latest versions from the appropriate websites. mobo, video (currently dialed back), i disabled the onboard Intel ethernet and installed a D-Link ethernet adapter, which helped to cut down on some of the initial bsod's.
and the bios has been updated and/or reset to initial release in an effort to narrow it down.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2011, 11:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

*IF* the mobo is NOT W7 64-bit compatible, it's something else other then the 890FX chipset

Windows 7 Compatibility for ASUS Crosshair IV Formula Motherboard: ASUS. Drivers, Updates, Downloads

If as you said the BSOD almost always occurs when you're surfing, have you tried disabling ActiveX add-ons if you're using IE or use a script/flash blocker if you're using Firefox.

Other diagnostic tests you can do if you find something that reliably crashes the system is to try with a clean boot, or in safe mode with networking and see if the problem goes away (NOTE: you want to be very careful about what site you test on since your AV would NOT be loaded):

How to troubleshoot a problem by performing a clean boot in Windows Vista or in Windows 7
Advanced startup options (including safe mode)

For a "clean" system you may also want to disconnect any hardware, e.g., USB devices, that's not needed for basic functionality during testing.

Lastly, did you apply all the functional updates for W7? And if you're out of options, SP1 (warts and all) maybe worth a try.
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 03:12 AM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

one thing i did not install since the initial installation was:

Version 3.2.1540/1.2.0
DescriptionAMD AHCI Driver V3.2.1540.24 for Windows 32/64bit XP. AMD AHCI Driver V1.2.0.164 for Windows 32/64bit Vista. AMD AHCI Driver V1.2.0.164 for Windows 32/64bit 7. AMD RAID Driver V3.2.1540.24 for Windows 32/64bit XP. AMD RAID Driver V3.2.1540.24 for Windows 32/64bit Vista. AMD RAID Driver V3.2.1540.24 for Windows 32/64bit 7.
AMD AHCI Driver V3.2.1540.24 for Windows 32/64bit XP.
AMD AHCI Driver V1.2.0.164 for Windows 32/64bit Vista.
AMD AHCI Driver V1.2.0.164 for Windows 32/64bit 7.
AMD RAID Driver V3.2.1540.24 for Windows 32/64bit XP.
AMD RAID Driver V3.2.1540.24 for Windows 32/64bit Vista.
AMD RAID Driver V3.2.1540.24 for Windows 32/64bit 7.

my understanding is it's for running a raid setup and that's not what i'm doing. am i wrong?

@ DCCV no, still holding off on the sp1 update, and i generally avoid installing Active X if i can , i use IE exclusively, and it's never any one site specific. sometimes i can have 10+ windows browsing with no problems, or just one, and bam!

thnx for the troubleshooting link. gawd that looks tedious....



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD Dar_ell Troubleshooting 2 August 12, 2010 12:51 PM
BSOD!!! HELP!!!!! t_mo_t Troubleshooting 9 March 31, 2010 12:14 PM
Getting BSOD's like a ***** Kayen Troubleshooting 20 October 31, 2009 12:07 AM
BSOD help! no_pulse O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 20, 2009 06:23 PM
bsod destroyerht Troubleshooting 4 June 19, 2009 02:02 PM