Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 06:28 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,041

My System Specs

Default Win 7 SP 1 Causing Crashes ( The Register)

If you installed Windows 7 Service Pack 1

Read this

Windows 7 customers hit by service pack 1 install 'fatal error' flaws ? The Register

Looks tike total rebiuld fore me soonner than later. (:
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 06:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

like i said many times before, wait a little bit before trying anything. wait for millions to try it before you.

rats are make it tru many things for a reason, they never gouge themselves on some new food source they just found,
instead they take a small bite, chances are more rats have tried it before so if they see dead bodies,
they wont eat...are rats smarter than ppl? hmmmmmmmmmmm
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 06:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: South Shore Montreal
Posts: 1,945
Default

I had SP1 installed and it caused a lot of hanging and made anything involving file transfers painfully long. Uninstalling it seems to have fixed the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 06:51 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Running just fine here on 7 very different rigs. No out of this world ram usage too... 1 to 12gb worth installed per computer.

C2D, Centrino and 720QM lappies.
P45 (2), AM2+ and X58 rigs.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 08:16 PM
scruff's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 246

My System Specs

Default

Same here updated 4 computers and no problems
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 08:26 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Updated four desktops and two laptops, zero problems so far...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 08:27 PM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

So far no issues for me either.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 09:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

Seems like the problem is pretty minor and just related to a small number of set-ups. Sadly, since windows allows all types of hardware (unlike apple) compatability is not always guaranteed.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 10:10 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

I had memory issues.

And at work we had a few broken Window installs due to the Service Pack screwing up something which was incompatible on the system.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 10:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

all systems go on 3 laptops and 5 desktops.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
fatal error , windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD drive causing PC not to boot Nexile Troubleshooting 15 November 13, 2010 10:56 AM
WB causing GPU to bend tragd Water Cooling 9 October 11, 2010 01:39 PM
Help please: What's Causing this? mjpd1983 Video Cards 11 June 18, 2010 04:34 PM
If you are still using WIN Explorer 6 or 7 Upgrade to 8 (Register.com ) ZZLEE O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 March 10, 2010 07:03 PM
amdlld64 causing bsod upcoast604 Troubleshooting 0 May 2, 2009 08:05 AM