Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 12:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

^ which you'd be wrong.

- I'm thinking dead mobo too, but maybe see if you can get your paws on another PSU to try out as well. for now though, just re-seat everything and try to boot up with minimal components (1 hdd, 1 stick of ram, 1 video card, no sound, no mouse. etc)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 02:36 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if its hardware, im thinking either heat or extra juice being pulled from the mobo did it.

take it apart and then back together on your table, put one card in, everything stock and try again. swap as many components as you can,ram sticks etc.

look for burnt/decolored marks, even on the psu wires. smell around, see if anything smells funny
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 04:37 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto (North York)
Posts: 214

My System Specs

Default

on my psp now. on the table now, no hdds, working, asking for boot device. looks like mobo is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 04:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good. continue. see what you plug in that makes it croak.

as far as i remember you dont have an extra imput for power on the pcb right?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 04:56 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto (North York)
Posts: 214

My System Specs

Default

works with system drive, and whql drivers installed. what do you mean by extra pcb power?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 05:16 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto (North York)
Posts: 214

My System Specs

Default

wow, this is just stupid, it is all working with all the hardware installed outside of the case, on the table. now i am going to put it all inside the case and see if it works. The only cause i can think of which could have caused all these problems is the amount of dust i blew from the power supply. maybe some particle was shorting it?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 06:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

heat, psu shutting down because of it but even then you shouldve encountered the problem with one card.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 06:57 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto (North York)
Posts: 214

My System Specs

Default

it didnt look like heat, it would not boot even after sitting for couple of hours. good thing it is working now, i was planning to go to cc and buy the cheapest lga775 mobo tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 06:58 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto (North York)
Posts: 214

My System Specs

Default

thank you very much for your quick help
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2011, 07:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

thanks for asking the q's, were here to help :)

on the other hand i still have my doubts, hope the problem never surfaces again :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
URGENT HELP WITH MY CPU!!! NineLives Troubleshooting 18 July 12, 2010 11:18 PM
urgent help needed Cowboy Troubleshooting 7 August 2, 2009 08:29 PM
URGENT HELP NEEDED - SMP Client Taz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 July 31, 2009 01:57 PM
comp wont start. kyle_L Troubleshooting 7 June 18, 2009 03:30 PM
Gtx260 price drop bxing day URGENT HELP NEEDED Cadence Video Cards 12 January 4, 2009 04:22 PM