Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 10:41 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Question How Do You Remove Caked On Dust From Computer Components?

Finally got most of the bags moved and unpacked, so I finally managed to get near my desktop, I opened the case and it has a tonne of caked on dust in it, the computer has been sitting unused since the fire in 200 Wellesley St. E. in September.

So, my question is this:

How do you remove caked on dust?

If there was someone living close by I'd ask if you could come over and help me. I am getting fed up of using this laptop, and want to get back on my desktop.

Last edited by mlauzon; March 13, 2011 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 11:27 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

How caked on are we talking here? What I usually use is a few cans of air and then a vacuum to suck it up as it flies into the air.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 11:29 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 943

My System Specs

Default

Soft bristle toothbrush ,tlc, and some canned air is what Ive had to use in most situations. ( most of the guys i fix pcs for chain smoke 2 packs a day in front of thier pc for 10 years lol. )
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 11:49 AM
Polygon's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 957

My System Specs

Default

can of compressed air, and Q-tips is what I use.
__________________
'Do not wish for easier lives, wish to be stronger men'
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 12:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,420

My System Specs

Default

Shaving cream brush FTW!!!! :)

Relatively soft brushes, but short/thick enough to be able to get the work done.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 12:08 PM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

HAHA!
I was going to start a thread about the weird "tools" people have picked up over the years for miscellaneous pc repair.
while cleaning a friends computer one day i asked if she had a small brush.
i got handed a make up brush she no longer used.
worked great and i still have it. soft bristles get in and scrub spots air just doesn't have enough oomph to move.
girlfriend razzes me that i have a makeup brush and she doesn't though
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 12:20 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

I usually just bust out the vacuum with a brush attachment and go to town. It's worked great for years.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 02:26 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Toothbrush, Q-tips, compressed air canister, 99% iyso.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 03:09 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

be careful, 99% iso alcohol ( i think you refer that) will be sticky on pci stuff... and sometime it might dirty-look-like strain on pci too...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 13, 2011, 03:13 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

The one problem is, my screwdriver was one of the things stolen while I was unable to access my apartment and don't have the money to buy one, so components that are screwed in I can't get out, plus I have no idea how to take the case apart. This is why I was hoping for someone local....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dust filter ZZLEE Cases 4 January 9, 2011 07:55 AM
Safely Remove Hardware Can Remove EVERYTHING geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 29 August 4, 2010 11:25 AM
[WTB] Your super-old & cheap computer that's collecting dust. Pickup only Vancouver oblisk Buy/Sell & Trade 20 July 4, 2010 04:50 PM
Dust friendly computer? biff New Builds 28 November 24, 2009 05:32 AM
Need Help Choosing Computer Upgrade Components Arinoth CPU's and Motherboards 14 May 28, 2009 10:03 AM