Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 09:01 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

It's now eating 4GB of RAM without any of the patches from Windows Update installed. Does anyone have any idea why it's happening?
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 09:12 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Mine was using 2.5gb of ram and the only major things running was Firefox and Messenger.

And there is NO way either of those things are using THAT much memory.

So either there is a memory leak or Windows is just caching a CRAP load more memory now.
Firefox has a memory leak, I had an issue with it not so long ago.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 01:00 PM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

have you tried turning off library and the precache? will slow down system performance a little

Edit: found this does it help?

How to Fix svchost.exe using 100% CPU / Memory Leak | Technibble
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 01:07 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

That's for WinXP.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 01:15 PM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

oops missed that same problem thought different os
does your hd have write directly to mem enabled?
do you have a good defrag program. run it
I find vopt 9 to be great
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 01:33 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coleo View Post
does your hd have write directly to mem enabled?
Don't know. How do I check?

Quote:
Originally Posted by coleo View Post
do you have a good defrag program. run it
I find vopt 9 to be great
Never heard of vopt. URL?
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 01:41 PM
coleo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

Vopt

i stumbled upon the hd to mem setting i will try and find it

Turn Direct Memory Access (DMA) on or off

i dont think this will be your problem though

Last edited by coleo; March 12, 2011 at 01:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 02:39 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Gruntsworthy View Post
Firefox has a memory leak, I had an issue with it not so long ago.
Negative.

Was not this.

As I already said.

Explain to me how you go from 2.8gb to 1.8gb of usage just by removing SP1 :P

Thought so.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2011, 02:47 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 141

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coleo View Post
i stumbled upon the hd to mem setting i will try and find it

Turn Direct Memory Access (DMA) on or off

i dont think this will be your problem though
F***ing Lenovo, locking stuff through the BIOS somehow, Device Manager does not show channels under IDE/ATA in the Device Manager.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 SP1 Wurmer Troubleshooting 7 February 26, 2011 07:45 PM
[FS] Sold howpet Buy/Sell & Trade 36 February 25, 2011 02:45 PM
[WTB] Laptop memory DDR2 for very cheap/toss (2GB or over kits) oblisk Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 30, 2010 09:57 AM
Format of 3G Laptop memory? sswilson Mobile Computing 2 September 22, 2010 12:15 PM
Memory Card Reader for Laptop Gadgetman Member Reviews 0 February 12, 2009 08:24 AM